the aftermath

So, it’s the Monday after Christmas….I’m back to work…and sick. Yep..my fault! I’ll take that blame! I vowed to you that I would exercise everyday…I vowed to eat pretty well…and did any of that happen? NO! Why do you ask? Was it lack of self-control? Throwing my vows out the window? No! NOTHING went as planned as far as ANY of that! The most exercise I got was playing with my little cousins who I don’t ever get to see (one of them I’ve met ONCE, and the other I met for the first time this weekend- and fell right in love with them!). Now, don’t get me wrong..that was a LOT of work! haha. I was doing squats and throwing her up in the air and chasing them around for two days straight (they’re 5 and 2). However, I didnt’ get to do an ACTUAL workout even ONCE! As far as food…ha! I think I had 3 servings of vegetables while I was there!!

This all, my friends, taught me a VERY important lesson. After a day I was exponentially more irritable; really snappy with my parents (sorry guys!). I started panicking and kept eating vitamin C tablets, but it didn’t seem to work completely. I woke up yesterday morning feeling like I had been run over by a truck! My throat was all closed up (as if my tonsils were MAJORLY swollen, but I dont’ have any!), I had a fever, and my whole body HURT! I had to drive 7 hours to get back home, IN the rain, feeling like THAT!

So, during these three days I realized something about myself…I am  A LOT more routine oriented than I ever thought I was! I like having MY kind of food around and amazingly (never thought I would say this!) I like the way I feel when I work out!…I realized I function a MILLION times better that way!

Now don’t get me wrong…there was much more positive about my weekend home with my family than negative..this was the ONLY negative thing. Since this blog is about health though, that is why I spoke about that! I had an amazing time home with my family (ridiculous amounts of laughing, GREAT PRIDE in my family, and lots and lots of love!) and great time with friends while I was home! I had such a great time home in fact, that I allowed my health to fall to the wayside!

Ways to fix this problem:

Bring my own FOOD! (it was much much more difficult to eat healthy up home because the options for healthy food are barely THERE!) ; make it a priority to exercise (Even if I have a 5-year-old telling me she won’t let me out of her sight even for a second!), and maybe find someone who will come workout with me..(that was a challenge up home though); and when those two are there, the stress levels will be down because I won’t be so IRRITABLE!

Lesson learned! So now to reallllly up my healthy foods and make sure I find time to exercise while moving the rest of my stuff from my apartment into the new apartment tonight! Whew!

I almost forgot!!! So, for Christmas dinner we didn’t do the traditional turkey so much. We did a traditional french dinner (we started this tradition when we would go to my Aunt and Uncles in Canada for Christmas…and it just became the every Christmas meal eventually). We have chicken stew with ployes and creton. Ployes and Creton!?!?! What the heck is that?! Well any of my northern Maine (practically Canadian..OR my Canadian friends!) friends would probably know what it is, but for those of you that don’t, let me explain 🙂 Ployes are sometimes called griddle cakes, or buckwheat pancakes. They are kind of like crepes, but less sweet. Creton is, plain and simple, pork spread. So, I am going to post recipes for these French DELITES, and you too can have a traditional French-Canadian meal tonight!!

Ployes!

1 cup refined buckwheat flour 1 tsp salt 1/2 cup
   flour, all-purpose 1 cup cold water 1 1/2 cups boiling
   water 1 tsp baking powder
  
  

Mix together buckwheat flour, salt, all-purpose flour
   and cold water to form thick paste.  Add boiling water
   and mix well.  Add baking powder and continue to mix
   until smooth. Cook in preheated, medium-hot cast iron
   pan without butter.  Cook in same way as pancakes, but
   do nut turn ployes over; they are cooked when the
   surface is covered with small bubbles. They are
   delicious buttered, and also with molasses (and CRETON!!).

Creton!!

  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • chopped garlic
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 pinch ground cloves
  • 1 pinch ground allspice
  • 1/4 cup dry bread crumbs
  •  Place the ground pork, milk, onion and garlic into a large saucepan. Season with salt, pepper, cloves and allspice. Cook over medium heat for about 1 hour, then stir in the bread crumbs. Cook for 10 more minutes. Adjust seasonings to taste. Transfer to a small container and keep refrigerated.

     BON APPETITE!!

    As always, thanks for listening 🙂 and I hope you had a FANTASTIC holiday 🙂

    2 thoughts on “the aftermath

    Leave a Reply

    