What’s in YOUR food?

Happy Tuesday!! I’m especially happy because Nick comes home today and I have a half day!! WHOOOO HOOOO!!!!

So, I have an assignment for all of you, if you so choose to accept it 😉 Last night I had my first ever guest over in the new apartment for a healthy and delicious dinner and a movie. We broke in my new cast iron skillet and made a tasty veggie stir fry with squash, red, yellow and orange peppers, broccoli, string beans and carrots over white rice with a ginger garlic sauce from this little place, you may have heard about it, York, Maine’s own little StoneWall Kitchen (http://www.stonewallkitchen.com/). Anyway, it was really delicious AND nutritious, and while eating, we settled in to watch a movie, Food, Inc. Now, honestly, I didn’t know what to expect from this documentary. Everyone that I know that has watched it told me that it would change the way I thought about food forever. With that being said, I wasn’t sure if it would be one of those movies that were going to just make me feel bad about my food choices or what. It wasn’t. It was BRUTALLY honest; just cold hard facts. It’s the facts that all of us in this country have the right to know about. Don’t we think its odd that someone has to write a book, or make a documentary to tell us where our food is coming from?! As was said in the movie, that tells me that we are sooooo far removed! Unfortunately , however, the MAJORITY of people who would watch this movie in the first place are already interested or conscious of what they eat and where their food comes from. The majority of people who NEED to watch this the MOST would probably NEVER even give this movie a second thought while browsing for their Friday night entertainment. So this morning I used the old “if you love me, you’ll watch this” tactic on my mother. It didn’t take too much convincing fortunately, but this is what we NEED to be doing!! We need to be passing this information on to those people in our lives that we LOVE and care about! You wouldn’t want someone you love drinking poison right? So if you love me (or heck, even LIKE me!) YOU’LL WATCH IT!

Food, Inc. by filmmaker Robert Kenner.

Rent it tonight, or this weekend…WHENEVER!! I promise you, it WILL change the way you look at things….

You have the right to know.

Love, Jen

2 thoughts on “What’s in YOUR food?

  1. Meg says:

    I have totally heard that this movie is life changing…it’s DEF on my must-see list. I’m loving your blog and it’s now part of my google reader feed:) Looking forward to your daily/weekly uplifting posts! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

