Workout at Home!

Good morning loves! It’s official, we have made it half way through the week!!! I’m so glad to say that I finally am feeling exponentially better than I was just a few days ago. I can breathe through my nose, and I am able to form an entire sentence without my voice cracking, YAY! I’m so excited to get back to my usual routine, but in the meantime, I’ve been having Nick make some mini WOD’s for me at home…

… Which leads me to the common argument I hear from people all the time (heck, I used to use it all the time)…”I just don’t have time to workout.”  WRONG!

Okay, I’m sorry, I don’t mean to sound pushy, or insensitive…it’s just that there are so many things you can do that will take up a whole 10 minutes of your time, heck, even 4 minutes(tabata workouts!)!! In the time you’re sitting there justifying why you CAN’T workout, you would have already been doing your post workout STRETCH! If you don’t think you can actually get a good workout in 4 minutes…at least TRY it…its a better workout than just sitting there!!

SO! I’m going to make it REALLLLLY easy on you (:)), here are some quick workouts you can do at home, for free, in under 10 minutes!

Here’s what I did last night:

I did a few minutes of warming up (jumping jacks work great in your house; yeah, my neighbors probably think I’m nuts. We have A LOT of windows, and I know I would do a doubletake if I saw someone doing jumping jacks and crawling around on all fours too!! Some high knees across your kitchen will work and butt-kickers (just like it sounds, kick your own butt all the way across the kitchen, hahahha), etc)

Then came the WOD:

4 rounds of: 4 modified handstand pushups, 5 jump lunges (1 lunge on each leg equals 1), then the doozy…bear crawls across my house and back…..now I have a LONG ass house! We’re thinking it’s about 150 feet…so 300 feet (thats just one round folks) of crawling like a bear on all fours , keeping your butt low to the ground …after one round you can’t bear (HAHAHAH, bear get it?) to think about doing another 3 rounds of that! But you do, you finish all four rounds in under 10 minutes, and you’re panting and sweating like you just ran for an hour!..and you feel good! Then I did as many modified pushups as I could in 2 minutes, with perfect form. So I didn’t do a million, I did 30…but I did them with great (modified on my knees) form, and I was able to touch my chest to the ground in between each, which I could barely get half way down when I started 3 months ago (yesterday was the 3 month anniversary for starting crossfit!!).

So that’s one option for you. Here are some others:

You can do a 15, 12, 9 formation (pick three exercises, do 15 of all three, then 12, then 9 of all three) of any of the following:

Squats, pushups, pullups, handstand pushups (off your bed or a table if you need to modify it), lunges (and you can do them across your house too, I did that the other day, WHOA BABY!), situps, jump squats, jump lunges, jump rope (singles or double unders), wall balls (if you have a med ball at home, you can just throw it up at a wall, about 10 feet up the wall), BURPEES, box jumps, broad jumps, dips…and you can add anything to the list that is moving your body in some challenging way!

You can go for a walk, and insert sprints in sporadically throughout the workout (pedal to metal!)

Do a tabata workout (for a grand total of 4 minutes folks! 20 seconds HARD, 10 seconds rest, 8 times) of anything from that list, or plank holds, or supermans, or hollows (supermans are on your belly, legs up off the ground, arms up (like superman!), hold it for the whole 20 seconds. Hollows are on your back, legs off the ground, trying to touch your lower back flat to the ground, arms up over your head…hold it…just a little bit longer!!!).

This is a tabata squats workout…if you honestly don’t think you can work up a good sweat in 4 minutes…this MAY change your mind….

 

Guys, you can DO this! 4-10 minutes of hard work at home when the baby is down for a nap, or when you roll out of bed in the morning (what a great way to start the day), or whenever you have 10 minutes free. You do! And if you don’t, you need to make it, its your HEALTH you’re investing in. Just think…10 minutes a day of that (start with 3 days a week!!), mixed with healthy food choices, you won’t need to go into a full panic mode come April when bathing suit season is rapidly approaching. Plus, you KNOW you want sexy shoulders like that lady in the picture…I know I do!

Do it for you! 😀

Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

