Paleo Challenge- day 5!!

“Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved.” ~Helen Keller

 

"Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, vision cleared, ambition inspired, and success achieved". -Helen Keller

  

 I put this quote up because, I myself, need the gentle reminder. This isn’t as easy as I thought it would be. I don’t know why I am struggling with this as much as I am. I think it’s getting easier for Nick…but so far its only been a struggle for me. Yesterday I woke up with more energy, that was great! This morning…not so much. I felt so hungry all day yesterday, as if my stomach was so empty it ached. I know I’m eating though!! I’m eating more than I ever have! Last night I got home and I was CRAVING oatmeal…something that would just stick to my ribs! Something hearty! I honestly wasn’t sure I could do this for the entire 30 days. With a clear head and heart today, though, I know that I can OF COURSE do this! It WILL get easier…it WILL begin to feel better…the results WILL feel and BE AMAZING!

Breakfast: a bowl of cereal…KIDDING! Although it could be a replacement for cereal! Pecans, walnuts (not NEARLY as much as I put in the other day when I made something like this…), apple chunks, blueberries, flax seeds and pieces of dried apricot, all swimming in almond milk. Brilliant 🙂 To warm me up from that chilly “cereal”, hot vanilla chai tea 🙂 Let me tell you, drinking tea without any kind of creamer in it is something new for me…but its getting easier 🙂

Snack: Carrots with almond butter, apple

Lunch: Today I get a free lunch from Sam Lagrassa’s here in Boston, and literally the ONLY thing I could order was a house salad with grilled chicken (hehe).

Dinner: Not sure yet! Maybe we’ll find something here in Boston tonight, or maybe we’ll go home and make those burgers. We ended up having more sheep stew last night…keep an eye on me to make sure I’m not slowly turning into a sheep please..and thank you. For dessert last night, we had majoul dates spread with almond butter…yummmmmmmmmm!

I feel like I’ve been stressed lately, so to counter that, I want to focus on what I’m THANKFUL for!

This…I love being able to pour my heart out on this every single day…and whats even COOLER is that you are actually taking a moment out of your day right now to read something that I wrote..to read my thoughts…thats so cool 🙂 You’re awesome, and I appreciate you 🙂  I’m so thankful for my family and friends, and for my amazingly wonderful boyfriend. If I didn’t have you as a support system, I may have dropped ALL of this a long time ago! I’m thankful to have a job, to have a beautiful home (a home that feels like a warm and safe place to come home to everyday, with pretty good people there 😉 ), and that I have people in my life that want the best for me, that are looking to help me on the path to being the happiest and healthiest I can be 🙂

Have an AMAZING Friday and an AMAZING long weekend!!! Maybe if I get up the nerve I’ll put up the pictures Nick took the other day for progress. Yikes! Talk to you soon 🙂

2 thoughts on “Paleo Challenge- day 5!!

  1. Danny V. says:

    JENN!! You’re kicking butt girl. You NEED MORE PROTEIN!! Try to eat a good source of animal protein at every meal (it likely won’t happen that way, so try for every meal). Its okay to get hungry once in a while, sometimes its just your insulin-addicted brain messing with you, sometimes its that you really need to eat. One of my favorite quotes of all time: “if you never get hungry, you’re fat.” But seriously, EAT MORE, can’t get enough healthy fat and protein in with these workouts you’re doing.

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      Great advice Danny! Thank you!! I really am trying to do that as much as possible, but its obviously not enough!!
      I will put more of a conscious effort into adding an animal protien, or more of it, to each meal!! Thanks coach 😉

Leave a Reply

