Beautifully Strong? or Perfectly Beautiful?

 

 

 

OR

 

This morning, my coworker Jess dropped off a People Magazine at the front desk . On the cover is the D-list, often “love to hate her” celebrity, Heidi Montag. The heading reads, “ADDICTED TO PLASTIC SURGERY- 10 Procedures in a DAY!” With her side by side “before and after” shots, she looks nothing the same. After reading the article, I was left in disbelief. She openly stated, more than once, “I want to feel perfect.” When asked if she was done with plastic surgery, she stated “I’m just starting. As you get older, there are so many different treatments. Nobody ages perfectly, so I plan to keep using surgery to make me as perfect as I can be.” Does anyone else think this is so beyond RIDICULOUS!? You’re right Heidi, nobody IS ever perfect…because we’re not ROBOTS! We’re not plastic Mattel dolls sold on the shelves of toy stores…we’re human beings.

After reading this, I honestly felt MORE beautiful. Knowing that I don’t need plastic surgery (like brow lifts, or Botox, or butt augmentations) to feel beautiful. How do I feel more beautiful? I put beautiful, colorful, nutritious foods into my body, and treat it like it’s the ONLY chance I have with this body EVER (because it IS!!). Butt augmentation?? Psh. Do a  hundred squats Heidi…everyday. That’s free, and you’ll have longer lasting results.  Last night as I was getting ready for bed, I noticed that, yes, my legs are still big…but NOW, they look STRONG. To me, that’s beautiful! Healthy is beautiful…and I vow to live my life being NATURALLY beautiful…and beautifully strong 🙂

 

Breakfast: scrambled eggs with red and green peppers, a few potatoes in there (ps: just so everyone knows…potatoes are not necessarily paleo…and I’m aware of this. In order  paleo, it should be something that is not PROCESSED. In order to eat potatoes you HAVE to cook them, thus, process them. Paleo does not mean raw, however, but everything in your diet should be safe to eat raw…However, I really love potatoes, they do not bother my stomach, and I wanted them to help me feel satiated. So I kept them in there.), onions, chicken apple sausage. On top of this, cubed avocado.

Lunch: “Chicken Soup for the Paleo Soul”. Brussels (lots of them), carrots, celery, onions, garlic (minced), potatoes (few of them), organic free range chicken broth, garlic salt, salt and pepper.

Dinner: probably more soup :-p (we make them in HUGE batches!) PS: this is key (or as Doc Franson and Nick say, “vital behaviors”) in eating well. Make large batches of food so that you always have something on hand to eat. It’s really hard, if not impossible, to find truly healthy food out there in the urban “wilderness.”

Snacks: clementine, carrots and almond butter, apple

Tonight at crossfit, 7pm!

5 Rounds
 – Max Overhead Squats (20 minute time limit)…good god. The prescribed weight for a woman is 65#…dunno. I’ll do my best tonight 🙂

Have a fantastic Thursday 🙂

2 thoughts on “Beautifully Strong? or Perfectly Beautiful?

  1. Chris says:

    I’ve always thought that plastic surgery, beyond things like reconstructive surgery after major traumas, tends to really look… well, plastic and fake. I don’t know why people do it. Heck, there’s things about my appearance I’d like to change (ie: it would be nice to not be mistaken for Chewbacca when I remove my shirt), but I don’t see myself actually spending time any money to adjust what I look like to the extent these people do. The way I look is a problem other people get to deal with, not me.

Leave a Reply

