Callused Hands are SEXY!

Quick post today!

Last night I went to Crossfit at 6pm, and had QUITE the workout, LET ME TELL YOU!

First of all, I had to SPRINT to the gym from the train because the train was taking its good ole’ time pulling into the station (I swear, this ONLY happens when I’m trying to make the 6pm…and if I’m late, burpees, burpees, burpees). Then, I get there and the strength portion of the workout is 3, 3, 2, 2, 1, 1, 1 of front squats. The goal: to find our max front squat. Now I know that a couple weeks ago I maxed at 110# on my BACK squat, so I’m thinking…it can’t be THAT much different! Bethany and I pull up to the 45# bar, and front squat that. I started second guessing myself: maybe it’s WAY different from a back squat…maybe 50# will be it for me…

Now, I literally get MAJOR butterflies EVERY SINGLE TIME I step up to a bar to do a heavy lift. So I step up to the bar, butterflies going buck wild in my belly…and front squat the bar…cake.

With each turn, I upped the weight, maxing at 105#. I feel pretty dang good about that!! The trainer said that I just need to work on perfecting my form while doing 105# and then I can definitely go up from there!!!

Now guys, that wasn’t even the WORKOUT yet.

Workout: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 of hang power cleans (with 55#), and box jumps. Now that is not 10 TOTAL of these…that is 1, 1-2, 1-2-3, 1-2-3-4, etc. I personally like the REVERSE ladder where you get the big guns out of the way first…

Hang power clean looks like this…

By the end of this workout, which I finished in 9:31, I was EXHAUSTED!!! You think we just went home at this point??? WRONG! Tabata lunges with a 15# plate over my head!! BRUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUTAL! But folks, I survived…I went home, a bluebird told me my butt gets cuter everyday (loving THAT!), and ate a DELICIOUS salad, watched a POINTLESS movie (9), and got a good nights sleep 🙂

PS: 12 days till I am in sunny southern California soaking up some Vitamin D  for 6 days!!!! AHHHHHHH!!!

Santa Barbara, California!!

Tomorrow’s Friday guys 🙂 Have a FANTASTIC Thursday 😀

3 thoughts on “Callused Hands are SEXY!

Leave a Reply

