Great Gains AHEAD!

Well, my friends, we have officially made it to the end of the work week! Yeah!!! I’m feeling pretty darn excited about quite a few things this morning! First of all, ITS FRIDAY! HELLOOO!! Not only does that mean that it’s almost the weekend, but that means that I got my “power” turned on at Franson this morning! Also, my parents are coming to visit for the weekend, and they’re getting here tomorrow afternoon! ALSOOOOO, my dad is going to try out Crossfit with me at 6am on Monday morning!!! I was so flippin’ excited when he told me he wanted to try it . It meant a lot to me for them to even come check Crossfit OUT! I mean, this has been a huge part of my life for the last 5 months, and I wanted them to see what it is their daughter is capable of! When he told me he wanted to actually do the workout with me though, AMAZING!!!

Finally, I’m feeling really excited that I’m starting to notice some gains at Crossfit! While I have been suuuuper exhausted since I have landed back in Boston 10 days ago, and I feel like I put on a few pounds while I was gone (remember the jeans meltdown? I’m sure Nick does and will never forget it…haha), I noticed a few things last night in the workout that made me feel like I was BACK and better than before 😉

First of all, I think we have discussed multiple times my deeeeeep rooted desire to do a kipping pullup, yes? Well since I have not yet accomplished that, I have been doing strict pullups (palms facing away from me) with the green band. For the LONGEST time I was incapable of doing even one pullup, WITH the green band, without kind of hopping off the 12″ box. Then during one of the workouts a month ago (ish), Danny

A visual for those of you that don't know what I mean when I say "pull ups with the green band." The band just gives you that little bit of additional assistance!

said, “What are you doing?” (remember that blog?), and since then I have decided I didn’t need the box. So last night we did a workout that seemed easier when just reading it on the crossfit blog, but it was definitely a good workout.

Workout:

AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) in 10 minutes of:

3 strict pullups (hooray..since this is the only kind of pullup I know how to DO!! It seems to make everyone else grumble, so I’m hoping that means once I actually GET a kipping, pullups get a little easier!)

10 Kettlebell deadlifts (25#) Could have done more than 25# obviously, but I needed to use that KB for my swings, which I’m only up to 25# for.

10 Kettlebell swings (25#)

So before going on to the next part of the workout I want to go back to the pullups. Guys…I was able to do ALL three (doesn’t seem like a big deal, but I honestly couldn’t do more than one before in a row, and I had to jump off the box….I was able to do ALL THREE from the ground, just pulling my bum up there!) CONSECUTIVELY! I did 9 whole rounds..which means??? 27 pullups in 10 minutes…from the ground!! I nearly welled up with happiness! hahaha!!

Okay, so the next part of the workout: MAX number of double unders (double revolutions of the jump rope per jump) in 2 minutes. I had to ask to make sure if it was CONSECUTIVE double unders, or just as many as you could do in the 2 minutes (didn’t have to be consecutive, just as many as you could do in the 2 minutes). Now before (meaning, 1-2 months ago) I couldn’t do a double under at all. I remember my first one like it was jusssst yesterday (haha, I’m in a punchy mood today..). But seriously…I was VERY excited when I got that ONE double under. So last night, when that 2 minutes started, I hammered them out (FOR ME!)! I did 29 (29!!!!!) double unders in the 2 minutes we had. I was staying pretty consistent with the rhythm of single, single, double, single, single, double…etc. WOOOOO FRICKIN’ HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

THEN!! Yes, there is another then! It was a very productive, awesome night at Crossfit! For our challenge we had to start off by back squatting 55% of our max back squat (4 reps, two times). I did 65# with Miss Alexis. Then, we had to up it to 80% of our max weight for a back squat. For this one we only had to do 2 reps at a time, but we had to do it 6(!) times! So, the first two turns I had, I did 85#, NOOOO problem!! So Alexis pushed me a little (you’re awesome :)) and said, “you ready to go up?” Maybe my max is not 105# anymore…because we went up to 95# and I was loving it! Ahhhh Crossfit 🙂

So anyway, it’s going to be an amazing weekend (family, weather, my man, good times!), and I hope yours is amazing tooooo!! Get out in the sun and soak up some of that Vitamin D!!! 😀 xoxo!

2 thoughts on “Great Gains AHEAD!

  1. steelbladeninja says:

    HAHA! AWESOME STUFF Jen!

    Great progress IS quite exciting!

    I didn’t get to come down there during the squats because I was making sure my buddy was getting his money’s worth but I caught a couple glimpses of you ladies knocking it out of the park (as usual). ;o) [And of course, Nick was killing his.]

    New gains every day! It’s ours for the taking! LET’S GO!!!

    Seeya in the AM!

    [btw…Jumping pullups and Jason wrecked me this morning…as I thought would be the case…]

  2. Judi says:

    That’s great Jen! It always feels great when you can actualy see your progress. It makes you want to keep going. I’ve been back into the exercise routine as well and my progress marker are my pushups. I’ve never been able to do more than 2 in a row and now I’m doing 12 wide, regular, and close which probably isn’t a lot for some people but for me who has literally no upper body strength it’s encouraging! Hope you have a great weekend with your parents 🙂

Leave a Reply

