Dairy-free, Gluten-free “Ice Cream”?? YES!

Ahhhh...summer 🙂

In only a few short months it will be that time of year again. The time of year when beaches are elbow to elbow full of people trying to get their piece of the sun, when restaurant patios are open and when there is a line 40 people long at Dick & June’s… 

…It’s also that time of year when you start kicking yourself perhaps for your decision to change your lifestyle. 

So, you’ve gone Paleo, or you’re thinking about going Paleo…but you feel like you’re missing out on the upcoming sunny season’s best treat…ice cream. I have VERY good news for you in that case 🙂 

A few Sunday’s back, Nick and I were exploring our little town after a VERY productive morning. We came upon this little shop that I had been interested in checking out for some time. A New Leaf sits right on Cabot Street where I have walked past it a million times. A HUGE variety of all-natural goodies sit just waiting for me in the window. So on this particular Sunday, we ventured in. 

It was like a playground for naturalists…everything from organic, all-natural cosmetics, to gluten-free snacks (and anything in between). We spent a fair amount of time looking around and chatting with the owner about his store and his life in Greece. 

Then, tucked back in the corner, stored in the frozen treasure chest Nick pulls out a pint of….COCONUT BLISS. 

Like ice cream? You'll feel good eating this...Coconut Bliss!

It was an experiment. We both loved ice cream, but no longer feel its worth the excruciating pain that it brings (at least it does me…). I’ve tried soy ice creams…eh, no thanks. An organic dairy-free, gluten-free “ice cream”?? It’s worth at least trying. 

We bring this pint of hazelnutty-fudge Coconut Bliss home, and tear into it right away. The result? Well…I know the tone of this post has been rather, well, dramatic…but there is NO drama in my voice when I say…betttttttter than ice cream. Yes folks, I said it…and I’ll say it again. 

Better. Than. Ice. Cream

Recently Nick brought home another pint of it, in the vanilla flavor. Even better than the hazelnut fudge. Sprinkle some honey sesame seed cashews on that, holy schnikes. So…you don’t have to miss out this summer when all your friends are devouring ice cream on those hot nights. You too can enjoy some “ice creamy” goodness, and actually enjoy (pain-free) the rest of your night too!! 

If you would like to learn more about Luna & Larry’s Coconut Bliss, the benefits of coconut oil, how they started this deliciousness, or even if you want to know if you can recycle the carton…all the answers are there on their site! 

On a Crossfit related note: I’ve been battling a little bit of a cold the last few days, but decided Crossfit would do me some good. The workout was pretty tough: 

As many reps as possible (AMRAP) in 15 minutes of: 

30 KettleBell Swings (I used a 25# KB) 

15 KettleBell Clean and Jerks (again, a 25# KB) 

30 squats 

For those of you that have never seen a KB clean and jerk (I hadn’t…): 

So anyway, I did 3 full rounds in the 15 minutes, and I was 26 KB swings into the 4th. 

THEN! That workout in itself was pretty exhausting (especially when you’re not up to snuff)…we had to do the challenge, which was a 500m row x2. So, the three guys got on the rowers, did 500m, and then the 3 women got on the rowers (my first time was 2:09, which was a very steady, could have kept going, pace), then the guys went again, and then the women again. My second 500m time was a personal best for me!! I did it in 2:01!!! That was after a tough workout, and having already done a 500m row just a few minutes before. I would say I did pretty well!! 😀 

I feel a little self-conscious today because I have two big bruises on my wrists from the kettlebells. I wonder if anyone ever wants to ask me what happened, but doesn’t, in fear that it’s something bad I don’t want to talk about. I wonder if someone did ask, and I answered “KettleBells”, if they would even believe me, haha. Oh the joys of Crossfit 🙂 

Have a great Wednesday!! We’re almost to the weekend!!

4 thoughts on “Dairy-free, Gluten-free “Ice Cream”?? YES!

  1. Denise Therese says:

    What exactly is Coconut bliss made of? I’m on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, so I have to watch more than just dairy.

    I actually make my own ice cream, out of homemade yogurt. It’s really good, if I do say so myself! 😀

  2. Kiley from Coconut Bliss says:

    Wow, thank you so much for the wonderful review of Coconut Bliss! It was great to start my day on a positive note.

    Denise, we are a coconut milk base sweetened with Agave and a few other additions to each flavor. The link above is exactly where I would have pointed you to check out each flavor.

    Cheers,
    Kiley

Leave a Reply

