What’s So Funny?

Silly grownups...rope isn't JUST for kids!

Picture this:

A 27-year old woman, sweating profusely, jump roping at the end of her driveway on an extremely busy street in Beverly, MA. Hilarious?? The majority of traffic on route 22 last night thought so; I would have to disagree.

I didn’t feel like going to Crossfit last night. Instead of partaking in the 45 consecutive pull-ups that I have nothing but trouble with, I decided I was going to do 100 double-unders for time at the end of my driveway. It was a GORGEOUS night! So, I dug out the black and blue jump rope I had stored away in the attic, and headed downstairs.

There are definitely times when I feel silly doing things where other people are involved. Example: A couple Saturdays ago, Nick and I could not make the 9am Saturday Crossfit. My parents were headed into the area, and we had to get in a quick workout before they got here. So, we hopped on our bikes (the weather was RIDICULOUSLY amazing!) and rode to the beach. People were EVERYWHERE; playing frisbee, laying on the beach, reading, etc. We rode straight over to the big hill at Dane Street Beach and set our bikes down. My plan was to do 3 rounds of: 40 squats, 30 situps, 20 pushups. I looked around…there was not a single spot where I could do this where there wouldn’t be people right near by. Nick was pumped, and kept asking me if I was ready. Over and over I would get myself psyched up and then just stand there. I literally couldnt’ do it. I was frozen. Then, like a child, I felt like stomping my foot…but instead opted for “Nick…this is outside my level of comfort.” So adult 🙂 He kept cheerleading and saying “anddddd GO!” which would result in me just standing there. “Jen, they’ll only look for a second.” Finally, I just did it, and it got a whole lot easier…fast.

Maybe I just needed that one experience, because last night I just didn’t care. I’m sure it looked silly for an adult, 5’9″ woman who is closer to 30 than 20 to be jump roping in her driveway, but it wasn’t like I was singing “Mary Had a Little Lamb” and throwing rocks onto hopscotch boards that I drew with a chunky pink piece of chalk. I was SWEATING….A LOT!! I was working out…but it was OBVIOUSLY hilarious to everyone that I was doing this. Honestly, if I were to see someone jump roping, I wouldnt’ think it was hilarious, I would think “oh man! I wish I could jump rope right now” Who said that jump roping was for kids anyway? They make them in adult size guys…so why not??

But anyway, to all of you that saw a chick jump roping last night, and snickered, pointed and laughed…you’re welcome. At least I could offer some entertainment to your night 🙂

Oh, and I DID finish the 100 double unders (in which I had to do 200 singles on top of that to achieve: 2 singles, 1 double, etc), in a relatively short amount of time, all the while DESTROYING my jump rope…can’t keep up jumprope?   

Happy Friday!!

9 thoughts on “What’s So Funny?

  1. Wendy Blackwell says:

    So what if you did sing mary or any other little ditty. I say sing and jump your heart out and so what if anybody looks. Ask them to join you! They are wishing for a moment of freedom just like yours. go for it, sing and jump your heart our.
    I found your page because I was looking for a photograph of child jumping rope and was drawn into your story. What a wonderful story!

Leave a Reply

