Adding More ~ing To Your Life!

A couple of days ago I purchased the book “Add More ~ing To Your Life” by Gabrielle Bernstein. I’m not super far into the book, about 88 pages, but I thought this would be a PERFECT project for me! I have made so many changes in the way I eat, the way I move, and have worked hard on changing the way I think. While there are things that have changed in my thoughts, like that I like the fact that my butt is getting bigger now, there are still a lot of changes that need to be made to make me the healthiest person possible. A lot of you would stop at this point and think, “whoa…you seem like a super happy person Jen!” I am!!! I am the happiest I have ever been in my life!! However, I also know that there are many things that I am holding on to in my past, over analyzing way too many things, and allowing negative thoughts to seep into my mind and keep me from being the healthiest person that I can possibly be!!! So while reading this book, I have been thinking that I should do just as she says in the book, to follow the ~ing equation, in the order the book says, and for as long as the book says (in the WAY the book says!) for an even happier ME!!

What I love about her “~ing equation” is that she not ONLY incorporates changing the way you think about things, but incorporates movement into it, and meditation/journaling. She doesn’t just believe that incorporating movement would be good, but that it is ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY!!! She believes that if you follow movement (that is incorporated with a shift in thought), with meditation and journaling (free writing, or free association), you will be most open to receive insight, inspiration or creativity. For example: one of the first things she talks about in the book is learning to forgive. She talks about thinking about what it is you are feeling, who and why you need to forgive, to really analyze that feeling, and then attached those thoughts to a mantra with movement. Now, take out a jump rope. She believes that jump roping with these thoughts ignites a literal feeling of release. Then, by just jump roping for 10 minutes, you will feel a liberation, a freedom, in LITERALLY  LETTING GO of the rope. So often we try to change our minds without convincing our BODIES that we’re letting go of the old thoughts also. This combines the two, and eventually, you WILL let go, for good. I love this concept, and I can’t WAIT to try it!! Then, after you have literally let go of the rope, you sit and meditate on how you feel about this. She believes this is when the real forgiveness (in this particular case) really happens. Finally, you free write on your feelings and experience after, and close the book. You need to do this for 30 full days to have it really sink in and take effect.

So, since the first step in the book is forgiving, that is what I will begin with tonight, and I will let you know how it went tomorrow. I will go through each chapter, for a month each. I will not record on my experience EVERY SINGLE DAY…somedays there will be bigger break throughs than others..and some days there will be things I don’t feel I want to share with the world, but I’ll keep you posted mostly 🙂

The EQUATION:

Rethinking + Moving + Receiving x 30 days = Changing

 

If you are interested in learning more about Gabrielle and her book, check it out HERE!!

 

On a Crossfit related note, last night we did:

5 rounds (with a 20 min time limit) of:

15 dumbbell cleans

10 burpees

400m run

I only got through 3 full rounds, and the cleans and half of the burpees in round 4. It was BRUTAL!!! However, I felt pretty awesome after. I felt awesome enough to ask Nick to jump rope with me, only 200 singles 😉

I LOVE LIFE!!!!

2 thoughts on “Adding More ~ing To Your Life!

  1. Black Sheep says:

    Interesting. I totally want to buy a copy of this book now, too. Your post alone was inspiring, as usual!

Leave a Reply

