“Any Idiot Can Run A Mile!”

This one’s for you Kathryn πŸ™‚

I had the ABSOLUTE pleasure of going to the Boston marathon on Monday with some of the coolest girls I know πŸ™‚ Positive, beautiful, STRONG women whoΒ GET me, and where what other people think is “weird” is just the norm with them!Β πŸ™‚ We got on the early train loaded down for the day. Yes, we were the weird girls with green smoothies, bags of assorted nuts, fruit and mini paleo pancakes…and trust me, we were loving every second of it!

Watching the runners that day and being the loudest people in our nook of the street, gave me that feeling of wanting to be able to run a race. I typically get this feeling after watching one. Typically it is that I want to run a marathon someday…but after thinking about that again, and watching the race, I’m not sure thats at the top of my priority list. A race though, I can do.

While we were walking along, I told Kathryn that I could reallly use her amazing ability to push people to do their most impressive work, when they really think they have nothing left, if and when I were to run a race. She told me a story about when she was running her marathon, and how she kept thinking, “any idiot can run a mile” the last 10k of the race.

When we were on the train back home, Kathryn said the three of us; Alexis, herself and I, should do a workout when we got back. She was thinking something like burpees, double unders in my driveway and a mile of running, just for me (I guess everyone is onto my hatred for running…oops). I laughed and said, yeah…no.

So last night, I didn’t feel like going to Crossfit and working out until 8pm, and I was took late for the 6pm class, so I decided I would make up my own workout, and make sure it was super challenging. I decided I would start that training for a race last night! I made a loop on mapmyrun.com while I was still at work, and came up with this:

2 rounds of:

50 double unders

1.3 mile run

I left a nice little note for Nick on the way out the door, to let him know where I was, incase I didnt’ come back, hahaha. I shut the door at 6:20pm and ran back through the door at 6:46! I ran a total of 2.6 miles and did 100 double unders in 26 minutes!!! I am MORE than okay with that! I used to run 10 minute miles…and had to walk some of it. I did the whole thing (100 double unders included…which took forever because I kept tripping myself up the second time..tirrrrrrrrred!) in the time it would have taken me just to RUN the thing! And you know what??? I AM proud of myself!! I didn’t walk even once πŸ™‚

As you know, it’s Wednesday…and typically I LOVE Wednesdays ANYWAY…but this morning was extra special. All week long, Nick has been doing “Morning Rituals” for work at the office at 5:30am. We have been showing up before the sun is even up, stretching, meditating, reading aloud an AMAZING morning affirmation, and doing “Attitude of Gratitude”! Yesterday we grabbed cups of coffee and headed to the roof of the parking garage infront of the office and each took our own little spots and spoke aloud to the Universe, or God, or whoever we felt most comfortable telling, telling him/her/it how grateful we were for what we have in our lives. It was such an amazing way to start the day…how can you start the day off wrong when you begin by reminding yourself and being thankful for all the amazing things in your life? This morning we took a field trip to the beach (with a cup of steaming hot chocolate mint truffle tea….mmmmmmmmmmmmmm) and each stood on our own little piece of the shoreline whispering thanks to the world. I am so thankful for you; for all of this…thank you πŸ™‚

I have to tell you, it feels really great to have written something again. I have gone almost 2 weeks without a blog (I think). It’s not because I just forgot either…sometimes you have too little to say, sometimes you have too much, and typically what happens is you end up saying nothing at all. I have had a lot to say, and with everyday I got more overwhelmed with the thought that I had not written to you at all. Well, here I am!

Thanks for listening πŸ™‚

xoxo!

5 thoughts on ““Any Idiot Can Run A Mile!”

  1. Judi says:

    Welcome back Jenn πŸ™‚ I have missed your enthusiasm!! I started a program called Couch Potato to 5K in 6 weeks…it’s pretty great. Actually makes me think I can do this. A great website is http://www.coolrunning.com it has a lot of great tips and usually has lists of marathons/races in your area. I wish my day had started the way yours did. I had meetings…and they weren’t on the beach haha! Hope you have a fantastic Wednesday…I plan too πŸ™‚

  2. nadeaujl5 says:

    Yeah, I’ve actually tried that program before!!! A longgggggggggggg time ago!!! My friend Alexis sent me some races in the area through coolrunnings this morning actually!! πŸ˜€
    You day CAN start the way mine did..you just need to get out of bed when its nearly IMPOSSIBLE to. See, thats where all the goodies are…when eveyrone else is sleeping..and you have the strength to get out of bed when all you want to do is sleep…you get rewarded..HEAVILY! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

