“Fiber Isn’t JUST For Cool Poops…”

If you were at Dr. Paul Kratka’s workshop last night on Eating Healthy in an Unhealthy World, you would know why I titled the post that offensively hilarious name. That, amongst many other, ridiculously funny quotes were said last night…and TONS of PRICELESS information was offered for no price at all.

As I sat in the front row listening to Dr. Kratka, I experienced a full range of emotions: from laughing till the point of tears, to shaking my head in disgust due to the cold hard facts he was presenting (Did you know that Nintendo is now coming up with a “GAME” to test children’s blood sugar…we’re making games out of children having diabetes now…someone else think that is disgusting?!). There was a lot of information that I had seen/heard before from Dr. Franson or Nick, as Dr. Kratka assumed there would be, but he delivered it in a fresh, new way…an in your face, direct approach. Here are some of the big things I took away:

1) Dr. Kratka wanted to first off dispel a common myth that we hear all the time…and it’s killing us… “EVERYTHING IN MODERATION.” No…NOT everything in moderation. He talked about how we shouldn’t just drink water in moderation (we should be drinking HALF of our body weight, in ounces…so for instance, let’s say you weight 140 pounds, you should be drinking 70 ounces of water a day…), the same way we shouldn’t be eating cake in moderation, or drinking soda. If you were to, let’s say, drink a bottle of rat poisen…what would happen?? What would happen if you put diesel in your gasoline-running vehicle?? Well, the same thing would happen for BOTH! The machine that you’re putting the “fuel” into would SHUT DOWN! Now, what would happen if you drank a can or two of soda a day, everyday….or what if you put a little bit of diesel in your car, everyday?? What would happen? EVENTUALLY guys, your car would SHUT DOWN!! It won’t happen tomorrow, or today…or even next week…but it WILL! And not because its “old” and just “aging”…eff that!…sorry…but come ON!, we are MADE to be HEALTHY!…and due to our lifestyles, we are causing our CRAVING-to-be-healthy bodies, to break down prematurely. Dr. Kratka would rip that soda out of your hands if he saw you drinking it…I won’t do that…but just think of it as RAT POISEN when you’re drinking it…it’s not good guys…

2) We should buy organic…always! I know it’s expensive (as Dr. Franson would say, but so is chemotherapy)…HOWEVER, I learned why we should REALLY be buying all organic. I dont’ always buy organic, I’ll be the first to admit that. We buy only grass-fed beef or free-range chicken, but some of, a lot of actually, of our produce is NOT organic. I thought, just like Dr. Kratka said MOST people think, that people think we should buy organic due to the pesticides. While that is a reason, but its only a small one. I learned that we should be buying organic because organic produce has all the nutrients. The “regular” produce is being grown in “dead” soil…while the organic produce’s soil is alive, crawling with bugs, and nutrients. Bugs are good in soil 🙂 So while Nick I were talking about it on the way home, I said we should switch to buying all organic, and we were thinking about how our grocery bill will go up by about 20%, but you know what? I’m okay with that, because if we’re not getting the nutrients in our food that we need…what are we paying for then? Case closed 🙂

3) This is something that I’ve said before, but it was re-established last night. EVERY single choice that we make in our lives, is a decision. You’re either, in regards to our health, making a decision to move TOWARD health, or move AWAY from health…but no matter HOW you slice it…it’s a decision that YOU are making. We as a society seem to take so little responsibility in our health…”oh I’m getting a cold, it must be that time of year…” or “I got sick after taking a plane ride because there were sick people on it and you’re all stuck on a little plane…you’re BOUND to get sick…”, or “My knees are going…but that’s just because I’m getting old…”. I would like to think I have more control over my health than that….wouldn’t you? How about if we make an environment in ourselves that is COMPLETELY unappealing to germs…we can do that! How about we CHOOSE to put only healthy, enriching, nourishing whole foods in our body, drink plenty of water, get plenty of sleep and think healthy thoughts…and then see what happens 🙂 I still get sick from time to time…but SO much less…and you know what, when I DON’T feel well, I know why! I was stressed to the max (stillllll my weak spot…), or I ate a bunch of crap. We are ONLY as good as our cells…and the food we put into our body makes up our cells. Seems soooo simple…but I know, it’s not easy!

4) Thing you should NO MATTER WHAT! stay away from:

Dairy

Processed grains

Processed oils

High-fructose corn syrup

Artificial sweeteners (did you know when they were testing animals for this (Aspartame)..every single one of those animals got a brain tumor??…I don’t remember the story of how those awful people still got it on the market…maybe one of you that were there could clarify that in the comment section…but it did, it got out on the market…and we as a society are BUYING it and PUTTING IT IN OUR BODY!!)

Artificial flavors/food dyes

What we SHOULD be eating:

Vegetables

Lean proteins: grass-fed/free range meat (no antibiotics or hormones used), cage-free eggs

Fruits

Fats (HEALTHY fats!! Fats are SOOO good for us…but still to these fats: fish/olive/coconut oil, avocado, raw nuts)

This was an incredible, entertaining, eye-opening workshop, that I really wish all of you could have been at! I also wish I really HAD taken notes so that I can get all the information to you. For those of you that were there, I would love sooo much if you could add, in the comment section, anything else that I have left out! We all take away different things 🙂

Thank you all so much for reading…I am so grateful for you 🙂

Love,

Jen

6 thoughts on ““Fiber Isn’t JUST For Cool Poops…”

  1. Judi says:

    That sounds like it was a great seminar! The line that I am making the choice whether or not I am healthy really hit me. I tend to get upset about my body shape (you know those days where nothing seems to fit or look right) and then what do I do to comfort my self…I eat..and not vegetables!! That is a concious choice on my part and I never really thought about it like that before…as ridiculous as that sounds! It’s my choice, and I need to start making the right ones more often. Something for me to think about, and figure out the change I need to make in my thinking…as always Jenn thanks for the inspiration! Have a happy Thursday 🙂

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      Judi, as ALWAYS, I LOVE your comments 🙂 You are so incredible at making people feel important..thank you! 🙂 It WAS a GREAT seminar, and I know you would have loved it!
      Yes, I still struggle with knowing that what I eat is MY decision (sounds silly…but so many people make up excuses..me included at times!)…”I worked out so hard, I deserve a donut”, “I am bummed, I need some ice cream”, “I don’t have TIME to eat healthy…”, etc etc. It’s tough, because those things taste sooo good, but it’s up to us whether we want to be the healthiest we can be, or not! 🙂 Thanks for the comment Judi!! 😀

Leave a Reply

