Michael and Daniel…Two Men I Love To Hate!

I’m lying in complete darkness…eyes still squeezed shut. Every piece of my body aches in a way I cannot even explain.

Where am I? Did I die? Was I hit by a bus? Did I fall out of a 10th story floor window? Why does everything hurt so much?

Then I hear his voice, telling me it’s time to wake up.

I peak my right eye open, taking in my surroundings. I’m in my bedroom. Then it all comes back to me…

Okay, so it wasn’t QUITE that dramatic 🙂 It was, however, not a pleasant way to wake up. What happened, you ask? “Michael” is what happened….

“Michael”

3 rounds:

800m run

50 good mornings (men: 65# barbell, women: 45# barbell)

50 sit-ups

Looks innocent right? Looks FUN, is what I thought! When we were lined up to get ready to run for our first round, our coach decided he liked us enough to tell us that we should probably either cut our weight down on the good mornings, or cut our reps for them. What? The good mornings were actually the last thing I was thinking about…what the heck is going to happen to me? According to Danny, the next day was PROBABLY going to feel like someone may or may not have sliced open the back of your legs with a knife while you were sleeping. Graphic, yes. Did it scare the ba-jeezus out of me? Yes.

So I cut my good mornings down to 25, and kept the weight at 45#.

The first 400m was BRUTAL. I dont’ know WHAT was going on, but I felt like a rag-doll out there…stumbling on rocks, throwing my weight side to side…oh wait, I have a picture…check this out…

 

Yeah, if that picture doesn’t illustrate just how BRUTAL that first 400m was, I can’t help you…

I did, however, make it through the workout in 26 minutes, and lived to see another day. This morning on the other hand, I wasn’t so sure I had actually made it out alive…

I can barely walk without looking like I’m doing the old man shuffle, my ribs hurt, and my legs won’t even straighten all the way…sounds like I need to take a night off right? WRONG! I took last night off to go watch the Red Sox play for the first time EVER!!! Let me tell you something…

Don’t EVER (well you can if you want to…) go to a Red Sox game the day AFTER a brutal workout, and expect to be able to comfortably sit in those seats designed for Willy Wonka’s employees. So sore…chairs so small…rough.

Anyway, tonight I am attacking “Daniel”. This should be interesting…

“Daniel”

50 pull-ups

400m run

21 thrusters (with 95# for men, 65# for women)

800m run

21 thrusters

400m run

50 pull-ups

As my buddy Brandon put it, “It’s like Fran with the runs” 🙂

If I sound like I am completely insane to do this workout when I am this sore…that just may be…but I’m going to do it anyway! I’ll see you on the other side! 🙂

Love,

Jen

3 thoughts on “Michael and Daniel…Two Men I Love To Hate!

  1. Judi says:

    So how are you feeling today?!? Still doing the old man shuffle 🙂 Hopefully you are feeling better and stronger! Have an AMAZING Thursday 🙂

  2. nadeaujl5 says:

    Judi, I am feeling FANTASTIC!!!! I am really happy I went last night! I dropped the weight on my thrusters to 35#, and had to use the red and blue band together (still harder than the green though!!!) and all together got through the 1 mile run, 100 pullups, and 42 thrusters 😀 AND I got my first rip in my hand!!! I know, its weird that I’m kind of excited about that…but its an earned merit 😀

Leave a Reply

