A Blessing In Disguise

Have you ever had one of those mornings when there is NOTHING in this world that could drag you out of bed early? I was DEFINITELY  having one of those mornings today. Tired and sore, all I wanted to do was sleep another 30 minutes.

“Babe, time to get up! We have morning rituals today!!”

“Babe, how much do you NEED me there today?” Now let me preface this by saying that I have NEVER, in the however many weeks “morning rituals” have been running, NOT wanted to go. I have dragged myself out of bed at 5am each Friday, sleepy or not, to start my morning off right in the back room of Franson Family Chiropractic. This week however, I just didn’t have it in me.

“I REALLY need you there…there are supposed to be some new people coming, so I really need you there.” This is ALSO the first time Nick has ever been very clear about needing me there…usually I have to convince him I really DO want to go.

Now I have to admit, I was grumpy. I really didn’t want to get up, I really did want to cash in my “I’ve never missed a single day” card…but I rolled out of bed with a subtle “Humph” and put on a baseball hat and headed out the door.

Driving into the driveway of the practice, I didn’t see a single car, and immediately felt a little frustrated (I get grumpy sometimes!! I’m human! haha). We waited till 6am (started at 5:40am), and excitedly got back in the car to head home for a little extra sleep before work (for me anyway). However, as soon as we got to our driveway, my attitude about going back to bed changed. Nick and I poured a cup of coffee, and he asked me to join him on the deck before he had to head back in. We had 30 whole minutes of quality time, and it didn’t take a lot of thought to realize it would be dumb to skip out on that!

I’m really glad I got up at 5:20am this morning when I didn’t want to. I’m really glad I poured that cup of coffee instead of getting back into bed. I’m really glad I started my morning going back and forth saying what we were grateful for, out loud to one another; having our OWN little morning rituals at our house.

I’m grateful for my moments over coffee, in our little tree-top hideaway, with you 🙂

Happy Friday!!!

Leave a Reply

