To Drug Or Not To Drug…

Good GOD please give me some advice!

Yes, I’m about to get personal…

Yes, I’m probably about to let you in on a little too much information…

Oh well.

I am about to keel over from pain from CRAMPS! Seriously…I’m talking all blood draining from you face, pain shooting down to my knees, strong urge to get up and move, watching to tear my hair out of my head…cramps!

Here’s the dilemma:

In my journey to remain natural and healthy, I asked my lovely boyfriend for some chiropractic advice. When asking what I should do for these severly painful little joys, I was told to take deep breaths into the belly. While that was nice, it didn’t help it all together, and it only worked while I was taking deep breaths. Second, I was told to apply some direct pressure; again, while that is nice, it’s nearly impossible to do all 8 hours of my work day when I am answering the phones, typing and what not. Thirdly, and this was not from Nick; drugs. Tylenol to be exact. Now, let me preface this by saying that as long as I have been alive, I have been averse to taking pain meds/drugs. When I had my tonsils removed at the ripe age of 20, I hardly used any of the pain meds they provided. When I had a couple other surgeries where Vicodin was provided, the bottles stayed full. I don’t like taking pain things, not even Tylenol. However, right now, I would do just about ANYTHING to stop this…SO…

Tell me why I shouldn’t…

Or tell me what I could do instead.

I think this is a common struggle for people with a similar lifestyle. In a world where there is such easy access to instant gratification, instant relief…while you’re in the midst of a pain storm, the easy pop of a pill doesn’t seem like such a bad idea.

In the meantime, I’m holding out, and these two little white pills are sitting next to me SCREAMING they’ll take away the pain…

What’s a girl to do!?

Posted in: Uncategorized

9 thoughts on “To Drug Or Not To Drug…

  1. stephanie vincent says:

    Follow your own intuition is what i say! Whatever decision you make is OK. Tylenol or no tylenol…either choice is perfectly ok.

    On a practical note…have you tried heat? i went through a weird summer once where i’d get really horrible episodes of cramps for an unkown reason. I discovered that if i got into a really hot bath as soon as I felt them coming it would stop it. Hot bath/heating pad, id give that a go.

    Also as far as meds, ibruprophen may help more, with less dosing due to its anti-inflamatory properties. After I had my baby, each time she breastfed the first couple days bad cramps would set in (actually normal- that’s how your body gets the uterus back to normal size) i refused strong meds, but took the ibruprophen.

    my 2 cents. good luck

  2. Jennifer W. Flynn says:

    I never take drugs either…but they were created to help people.
    When you need them (really bad cramp day) take ’em.
    They will most likely be very helpful for you

  3. Lauren R says:

    I second the HEAT motion! Those 8 hour sticky heating pads from CVS/a drug store definitely help, or an electronic heating pad if youre sitting near an outlet all day.

    Also, as painful as they are, get up and walk around for a few minutes while stretching. Using the surrounding muscles will draw some of the tightness away from the cramps muscles, helping. I usually find that being active note only helps with the pain physically, but distracts me mentally from it as well.

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      Yeah, I notice that when I’m walking around the pain is a lot LESS! While I can’t get up and walk a lot due to the nature of my job, I just took a nice walk to the post office…and while I was slowwwwwwwwwwwwwww getting there, it did feel a lot less intense.

  4. chelsea says:

    Hey Jen! I will third the recommendation for heat, it always me. Have you tried taking bromalain? It is a vitamin so you would not be ingesting any sort of drug. It has been known to help with cramping but it is an digestion enzyme but it also helps decrease inflammation. Or I think taking something with calcium and magnesium would help. I have a powder called Calm; it is a freeze dried calcium magnesium drink
    I hope this helps!

  5. c wiss says:

    Staying active and hydrated are the top two things I do to help with cramps. Having to sit for long stretches at work and school definitely do *not* help, I second the suggestion to just take a walk through your office/building. Or maybe head outside on your lunch break, if you get one. Hope the other suggestions are helpful to you, it’s so damn hard to concentrate when those pains hit you!

Leave a Reply

