Success and Short Shorts

While some people use their earned time to take off a little early on a Friday to go to the beach, or get a beer at their favorite pub…I’m taking off an hour or two early to…

go to the gym :-p

I usually NEVER go on Fridays to the gym because the latest class is at 5:30pm. The problem with this is that the earliest I get home usually is 6pm…see the issue there? SO! Since I wasn’t able to get into the gym as much as I had hoped this week, I have decided to get my weekend started a little early so I can get my bum to the gym! Not a bad way to kick off a weekend of fun! 🙂

The workout is Josh:

Josh
 – 21 Ovehead Squats (95#/65#)
 – 42 Pull-ups
 – 15 Ovehead Squats (95#/65#)
 – 30 Pull-ups
 – 9 Ovehead Squats (95#/65#)
 – 18 Pull-ups

Challenge:
 – 1 Mile Time Trial

 I can (almost) guarantee I will not be putting 65# over my head tonight…but I may surprise you and I both! Eee…time trial for the mile…don’t love that…but sometimes you got to do something JUST BECAUSE you don’t love it…or else you would never do it.

I aspire greatly...

 

As for last evening, I have some personal success’ for myself! Yesterday I went to buy some new shorts to workout in, and I decided to try on those really short, yoga pants material type, shorts that I see a lot of crossfit ladies wear. I wanted to know the appeal. Now…to preface this…I used to wear pants all summer long because I hated shorts (my legs) THAT much. I remember the first time I ever wore shorts to Crossfit I felt like everyone was staring (and not in a good way), which I know no one cares…but I was THAT nervous.

So anyway, I’m standing in the TJ Maxx dressing room yesterday, and all of a sudden I find myself with a problem I was NOT prepared to have! I LOVED THEM! As a matter of fact, I loved alllll the pairs I tried on so much that I didnt’ know which ones to get! I bought two, and left the store happy. The next challenge however was not going to be so easy. It’s easy to love short, spandexy type shorts on you when you’re standing in the comfort of a 5ftx5ft stall. HOWEVER, the thought of walking into the gym with those shorts was NOT so secure. The result? I walked out of that bathroom wearing those shorts, and not even thinking about it for a second! How did that happen?! I have no idea how that happened, but to me, it was a HUGE success 🙂

The workout was great too 🙂 I, unbeknownst to me, stumbled into a Level 1 class, so I didn’t end up doing the workout I was planning on doing. I did, instead, a modified Helen 🙂

5 rounds:

200m run

12 (25#) KB swings

6 pullups (WITH THE RED BAND!!!!!!!!! Now, tonight’s workout involves a total of 90 pullups, so I cannot promise a completely red banded workout for me, but I will darn try!)

Great night, great morning today with Nick and Alexis at morning rituals 🙂 So much to be thankful for!!! Um…and hello…ITS FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

11 thoughts on “Success and Short Shorts

  1. stephanie vincent says:

    that is a success!!! congrats!!! I know the feeling….i have experienced the same thing. I look in the mirror and everything looks good, but i am paranoid, becuase all the years i couldn’t wear the clothes i can now! Out of curiosity how thick is the red band?

    I can do a couple with a 1inch (blue at my box), but still need the 1 1/2 inch (green at my box) for more than a couple!!

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      Stephanie,
      I’m not sure how much the red is…its a step closer to no band than the blue, which I’m excited about..maybe 1/2″? or an inch?

      Yes, its exciting to be able to wear things you never would have worn before, and at the same time, FRIGHTENING!!! I was just excited that I just didn’t care once I left that bathroom 😀 Thank you for the comment!!

  2. Kelsalynn says:

    I just did the same thing last week in the dressing room w/ the short shorts. After watching the games, I went to a sports store and tried them… AND LOVED THEM! My b-day is 2 weeks away and they are on my list. I even took a pic w/ my phone of the tag so my hubby knows exactly which ones I want! At least you workout at a CrossFit gym where they’re acceptable- show what your mama gave ya- but I workout at a Globo gym and I’m THE ONLY female in the weights section usually. Talk about needing courage 🙂

    I don’t think I could overhead squat 65# that many times. I bet you can do it though!

    Nice job on the workout!

    TGIF back at ya!

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      wooo hoooo!! rock that lulu!!! 🙂 I’m assuming you’re talking about lulu, it seems to be the drug of choice for crossfit women…I haven’t gotten there yet 🙂 Someday 🙂 and thank you for your support!!! 😀 you rock!

  3. JoeV says:

    So funny that you were actually worried when you wore shorts to the first time at CF, esp. since NO ONE at CF cares about looks.

    Enter two people:

    Person 1: short, chunky, generally not that great looking by classical standards, but with a FRAN time of 3:30.

    Person 2: an Adonis, God’s good-looking gift to humanity, but with a FRAN time of 12:00.

    Guess who will be IDOLIZED at the CF gym?? That’s right, FRAN 3:30!! Progress in the performance numbers is what we admire. Usually physical transformation is the by-product, but that’s certainly not the focus.

    And this approach at the gym should be everyone’s approach in LIFE outside the gym.

    Maybe this is just a guy’s perspective, but I’m a thousand times more excited about you progressing to the red band than anything else. Soon you’ll be a non-band kipping pull-up fool! But I’m definitely psyched about you feeling a lot better about yourself in shorts too.

    LIFE is GOOD!

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      I get what you’re saying…and I totally agree that the BIGGER thing here is success with the pullups…but for me, it was a huge success because I had a lot of body image issues…so yeah, I’m holding strong to my excitement! 🙂

  4. amanda says:

    you rock! Can’t wait to see the shorts tomorrow. Too bad the Saturday workout wasn’t Josh haha he would of felt so welcome!

  5. joann/ aka mom says:

    your my girl and i love you very much you have grown up into such a wonderful amazing young lady we have overcome some hurdles jen but look at where we are now stronger than ever beautifully strong hehehe we love you sweetie and are very proud of you love your blogs love mom and dad say hi to nick

Leave a Reply

