~HOMEMADE PIZZA~

Now before you stone me and yell through the streets, “HYPOCRITE! HYPOCRITE!!”, let me just say…

 

PALEO PIZZA!

 

My friend and fellow Crossfitter, Lauren, had a wonderful post on her blog Ciocco, on how to make DELICIOUS paleo-friendly pizza. I haven’t really had any major cravings for pizza since switching over to Paleo a year ago, but I will admit its pretty tasty. I have a piece of “regular” pizza from (SELDOM) time to time, and honestly, it jacks my stomach up for a good week…so not worth it. So, when I saw Lauren’s post I thought it would be fun to try!

 

photography by Lauren Cecilia

 

 

 

But..but…but..how? How do you make a crust without grains?? The answer, well there are a few, but the answer…coconut flour. HERE is the recipe, also found on http://eatthecookie.wordpress.com.

 

So what did I think? YUMMMMMMM-YYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!! The only problem I had was that I wasn’t fully prepared. It was kind of a last minute decision to make the pizza, and I just HAPPENED to have everything in the house, EXCEPT parchment paper. Seems like a miniscule issue…however…I have learned it is ABSOLUTELY necessary in this situation. I didn’t have a round pizza pan, only a cookie sheet, SO, I greased the cookie sheet with olive oil (like they told me, minus the parchment paper), and figured I would just flip the crust out of the pan after the 20 minutes of baking one side. Well..that didn’t work out. So, what I did was leave it in there and go on with my merry way. The problem? One side got crispy-ish, and the other did not. It was really soft, almost mushy, dough. HOWEVER, it still tasted great! So, the lesson here is that next time, I WILL use the parchment paper 🙂

I actually had a piece for lunch today, cold…and it was DELICIOUS! Even better than last night 🙂

 

 For toppings on my pizza I used:

 

eggplant

 

summer squash

 

red onions

 

green pepper

 

white pepper

 

olives

 

grass-fed beef

 

 

 

YUM!! Now go try it for yourself! 🙂

As for the gym: I know I should go tonight, but my quads are STILL jacked from Sunday. So on Sunday Nick asked me to go run tabata sprints with him at the track by our house. This, I did. THEN, to add to it, he said, “Let’s do a 100m broad jump”…um…100m is a LONG frickin’ way to just jump forward and land in a squat… jump, land in a squat…You’re almost doing this for what seems like ALL DAY! The humor however, comes from the fact that you will not be able to walk for the next two days…yeah…hilarious. I skipped on Crossfit last night because we were to find our one rep max on back squats…”Yes, my quads are smoked from broadjumps, but I think it would be a SPLENDID idea to rack up a good ole’ 110+ pounds on my back, and squat till the cows come home…” Um..not.

So, the workout tonight is:

Roy
5 Rounds
 – 15 Deadlifts (225#/155#)
 – 20 Box Jumps (24″/20″)
 – 25 Pull-ups

 

I can’t decide if this is a good idea or not…Lesson here? Don’t EVER let Nick convince you to do 100m broad jumps AFTER tabata sprints…ever…promise me.

Any-who 🙂 Have a fantastic night…3 more sleeps till my trip up north to Maine with Nicholas!!! 😀

 

Love,

 

Jen

 

Posted in: Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “~HOMEMADE PIZZA~

Leave a Reply

