I Scream, YOU Scream….

…Wait, you DON’T scream after ice cream???

Today,  here in the office, is the annual ice cream social. A table length of assorted cold and creamy flavors, and every ice cream-like condiment you could possibly think of. See, here at good ole’ W&F, there is NO messing around when it comes to food. We have mexican fiesta’s with a mariachi band to boot when Cinco de Mayo comes around, an extravagant spread with bottomless wine for Christmas, and a forever stocked kitchen full of cookies and candy. You can see how this would cause an issue for me.

The issue I most run into, however, is not a question of will power, AT ALL. The problem I tend to run into is…teasing? Yes, most days I can handle this…

“What’s in that jar (a green smoothie), a science experiment?”

Someone walks by while I’m eating a bell pepper, as if it were an apple, “Jen…no one does that…no one…”

“That looks disgusting…” again, a green smoothie…

My favorite thing is when Nick says to me at home, “Babe, are you doing your spinal hygiene during the day?” Now, let me say that I KNOW why I should be doing this, I get that…however, I feel there is a lack of understanding on his part when his office is COMPLETELY on board with everything he does! My office…no so much. I feel like people ALREADY think I’m an odd-ball here, let’s just toss some spinal hygiene on top… *sigh*

Anyway, back to what I was saying…

So what do you think happens when I turn down something here that is less than healthy?

“Jen, just get over it and eat some…”

“Ohhh, you’re too HEALTHY for this, I know…” with an eye roll ps….

Brutal.

So, needless to say, I have been thinking about this ice cream social, and not the way most would expect. There are no feelings of excitement, nor have I been talking about it all day like most people, about looking forward to it…I’m actually NOT looking forward to it at all.

Today, I will say, “No thank you, I’m lactose intolerant.” End of questions, end of story 🙂 Hell, I probably am!

"I don't feeeeeeeel gooooooooooooooooood"

Tonight I am working out with three LOVELY ladies at Dane Street Beach; we’re doing “Annie” (50,40,30,20,10 of double unders and situps). Get this though. Soooo, when I started Crossfit in October, I went through a month of “On-Ramp” which is like a Level 1 class. Once I was OFFICIALLY in Crossfit, in the “regular” classes, my first official bench mark was “Jason”

“Jason”
100 Squats
5 Muscle-ups
75 Squats
10 Muscle-ups
50 Squats
15 Muscle-ups
25 Squats
20 Muscle-ups

I remember that workout SOOO clearly. I hated every second of it. I remember hanging on the pull-up bar, looking at Danny with a look that could kill. I remember him looking at me and saying something along the lines of ,’don’t be a baby’. I think I heard the saying, “You can cry, just don’t be a wuss” for the first time that night. It was brutal. So a month or two ago (time seems to fly a little too fast lately) was “benchmark week” and I just wanted “Jason” to come up. I wanted to face him again and this time, CRUSH HIM! However, it didn’t. It was mentioned to me that “Jason” would be coming up soon, however, but…he didn’t. So here we are, August 5th, a day that I had planned on NOT going, to do a workout with friends at the beach…and sure enough…Jason shows up. BUGGER!! Oh well, I have the rest of my life to bump into him again..and next time Jason…you won’t even recognize me. Next time, it’ll be YOU crying :-p

Happy Thursday everyone! Tomorrow I will be heading to MAINE for a weekend of relaxing at the lake with Nick, and hanging out with my family 🙂 CAN’T WAIT! 😀

13 thoughts on “I Scream, YOU Scream….

  1. Brandon Arakaki says:

    Well now…you can tell your work associates that you know someone across town working in a Fortune 150 company who just today had a green pepper and ate it like an apple (why not?), who has a sludgy-green/brown smoothie on occasion, AND who’s eaten a whole roasted yellow squash bite-by-bite for breakfast twice in the last week (kinda like the cucumber you were eating on the train that first time I took the rail home :D).

    And you can tell them that Coconut Bliss is just as awesome and has nothing to do with suckling for enjoyment from another species… :S

    I guess the bottom line is…if they want what you have, they’ll have to do what you do…otherwise, they’ll get what they’re gonna get in 10, 15, 50 years when we’re still swimming, running, jumping, and LIVING as vibrant as we are today. Their life, their decision…all we can do is LIVE in front of them and show them a better way. 🙂

    Just saying…

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      hahaha, the “has nothing to do with suckling for enjoyment form another species” line made me laugh LOUD!!! Thanks 🙂 I know its not to be mean, and like I said, I can handle it most days…just today, with a little bit of irritation in me already, I wasn’t dealing as well :-p

  2. Judi says:

    Keep your head high and rise above what is said because they are talking out of ignorance…they don’t know any better…they don’t know what you know just remember that next time someone rolls their eyes or tries to shove ice cream into your face 🙂

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      It’s tough for sure! The mexican party was GREAT..i had fajitas! Some delicious veggies, chicken and GUAC!!!! That was not an issue 🙂 I definitely had a piece of key lime pie, I’m a sucker…but that stuff doesn’t make me feel like death like ice cream. Don’t get me wrong…it was tough today. Everyone eating ice cream..and I set it up, so I saw each and every topping up close. I just know its not worth it…

  3. Kelsalynn says:

    oh yeah, our “cake day” is monthly here at my office and the last time, ppl were literally shoving cake right at my mouth telling me “it’s sooo good” and “don’t I want some?” It’s INSANE how much people want you to eat it if they’re doing it. it makes them feel better. When you don’t, you’re a reminder right in front of them of what they’re unable to do- RESIST!

    Once in a while I will allow myself to have a soda. These same ppl who beg me to eat cake will say, “oooh, you’re being bad…” when I have a pop. I want to ring their necks! 🙂

    I remember my very first CF workout so vividly b/c I thought my life was going to end right then and there. It sucked SO BAD! Who knew I’d be addicted?

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      who knew huh? 🙂 I feel the same way…I never could stick to things in the past…and here I am, 10 months later, JUST as excited, if not MORE excited about Crossfit than the day I started 🙂

      It’s tough in the office…for sure. I feel like if I DO slip here and there, its on display because I say its not good for me…the thing is though, sometimes I slip…but I STILL know its not good for me, and its not a staple. What are you gonna do right? Besides vent about it on a blog :-p

  4. amanda says:

    I love you too but not the same way as Nick 🙂 hehe…Had fun tonight! Thats gunna be a regular! Sorry you missed Jason!
    Have fun this weekend! xo

  5. Vlad says:

    “Jen…no one does that…no one…” This is a super-hilarious line, made me laugh hard… Just tell those friendly co-workers that more of us are coming. Healthier, energetic, positive, and, yes, more prepared for “the unknown and unknowable”… We are the invisible competition… We are the revolution… “Let’s start a riot!!”…:-0

Leave a Reply

