Running and Recipes!

Oh man, I don’t even know where to begin. I have a lot to tell you guys! 🙂

First of all, I went running last night. On my own. No one making me do it. I know…you’re shocked! AND, I ran the most unbroken distance I’ve ever run. This is not a lot, so don’t laugh…but for ME, it is! I have run 5 miles before, but I did it in intervals, so this is my first ever unbroken distance…2.5 miles!! The best part??? I felt fast!!! I mean, I used to feel like I was running in cement the whole dang mile I ran (that was the most I ever had to run at one time), but last night I felt amazing!! I was pacing about 8 minute miles 😀

I have been working out a LOT lately! I went from working out 3-4 (4 being more rare than 3) times a week, to now doing about 5 times a week (may hit 6 this week if I make it to the Saturday workout!). I feel like my need for exercising as many days as possible is growing every single day. Without it I feel lost, irritable, and sluggish. Like last night, I wasn’t feeling that well, and I literally felt wiped OUT! I decided when I got home, however, that instead of laying on the couch and crashing out (which may have made me feel more rested, but I know me, and it would have made me feel gross) I would make a dinner (eggplant lasagna) and go for a run. Dang, am I ever glad I did!? I felt so much better last night after my run, I was LITERALLY saying out loud..to myself, hahaha, ‘THAT WAS AWESOME!’ When Nick got home at 8, he saw the kitchen all cleaned up, a DELICIOUS looking (HEALTHY, PALEO) dinner in the oven warming, and a note from me saying I had gone for a run, but I was already back and showered. With a grin from ear to ear he walked up to me, hugged me and said, “Who ARE you?…seriously, who ARE you?!” Let’s just say that when we started dating I was not a cook, and I would not have gone out for a run just because 🙂 I love seeing personal growth 🙂 I also love when people I love see that personal growth and I get more kisses because of it 🙂 hehe :-p

Okay, recipe time 🙂 Get excited! Nick and I have been making some tasty, delicious, healthy meals/treats this past week, and I’m dying to share them with you 🙂

First up, apple, buttery, deliciousness.

The other night after dinner, I felt like something sweet.

Buttery Hot Apples

You need:

Apples

coconut butter

raisins

cinnamon

coconut milk

So all I did was slice up the apples while melting some coconut BUTTER on the stove. I put all the apple slices, along with some raisins in a glass pie dish, sprinkled cinnamon over the apples and raisins, and then poured the melted coconut butter over the mixture…mixing it all together. Bake at 350 till apples are soft. Once done, dish into bowls and drizzle just a little bit of coconut milk over your portion….DELICIOUS!

Pumpkin, Walnut, Chocolate Chip Muffins

I will have to wait till I get home to give you the exact recipe for this one. Nick pulled it out of “Primal Blueprint Cookbook”. After our first bite, we looked at each other and just started giggling…it was THAT good! I’m still in shock on how something with zerrrrrrrrrrrooooooooooo grains in it can taste JUST like a muffin!! The ingredients are pumpkin puree (but we used a sweet potato instead), coconut flour, walnuts, dark chocolate chips, pumpkin pie spice, eggs, baking soda and coconut oil. I may have left something out in there, which is why I want to get the exact recipe for you tonight 🙂 Sooooo freakin’ delicious!!!

Eggplant Lasagna

You need:

2 eggplants

3 eggs

almond flour

coconut oil

Heat a skillet or griddle, melt coconut oil on it. Slice eggplant into thin disks. Coat both sides with beaten egg mixture. Place one side at a time in almond flour (I had it on a plate), coating both sides, and then place on heated griddle/skillet. Brown on both sides. Put aside.

Grass-fed beef

Green peppers

Onions

Can of peeled plum tomatoes

Can of marinara

Brown beef, and then add in peppers, onions and sauce. I just made a regular spaghetti sauce of sorts here.

Once this is done, start laying bottom of a glass pan (the big oblong ones) with eggplant; then a layer of sauce; a layer of eggplant, and another layer of sauce. I grated a little bit of fresh, raw cheese on top. CHEESE? WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT? Yes, I used a little bit of cheese, RAW cheese (so it’s a little better :-p). Pop it in the oven to just melt the cheese on top. Ta-da!!!

Also, my friend Bethany told Nick she made this and used a layer of spinach. That sounds brilliant, and we’ll probably add that next time! 😀

So yummy 🙂 Can’t wait to eat left-overs tonight 🙂 Can’t wait to see what we’ll make next! 😀 mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

And now that I’m STARVING….let’s talk about tonight’s workout :-p

Murph… yes, Murph. Do you remember my post about Murph? (mental refresher) For some reason, we’re doing it on a Tuesday night, in the middle of the week. I dont’ really understand. As far as I knew, Murph was reserved for once a year, on Memorial Day. I guess they wanted to shake things up today. So, on my lunch break I need to head to City Sports to buy some tape…I’m not going to do 100 pullups tonight without it.

Workout “Murph”

1 mile run

100 pullups

200 pushups

300 squats

1 mile run

Woooooot! Should be a good time :-p I’ll let you know how it went tomorrow 🙂

With love,

Jen

5 thoughts on “Running and Recipes!

  1. Meghan says:

    Jen – love your recipes! We’ve been stuck in a little bit of a rut lately, so I’m excited to try that lasagna! Last night Alex and I branched out a tiny bit and did lettuce wrap tacos, they were SO good. Thanks for sharing your ideas.

  2. Jessica Briggs says:

    I don’t tend to like things nor am I all that healthy, but I tried a bit of that muffin today and it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

