As Promised…

…the recipe for the muffins…and more!

Pumpkin Nut Muffins (from The Primal Blueprint Cookbook by Mark Sisson)

We made some modifications, I will include the modifications we made (we also doubled the batch)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup coconut flour, sifted 1 cup coconut flour, sifted

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice mixture instead of individual spices

1/2 teaspoon baking soda 1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup cooked pureed pumpkin 1 baked/cooked sweet potato peeled

6 eggs, beaten

4 tablespoons coconut oil (or unsalted butter), gently melted 8 tablespoons coconut oil, gently melted

1/3 cup pure maple syrup or honey 2/3 cup honey

1 teaspoon vanilla extract 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/4 cup coarsely chopped pecans or walnuts 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

3/4 cup semi sweet or bittersweet chocolate chips 1-1.5 cups dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 400F.

I think I’ll take Mark’s advice on this one next time…he said to grease muffin pan(s) very well or use aluminum disposable muffin liners because the muffins stick to the paper ones too much. This is a true statement…very very true. It was, however, all we had in our house at the time, so paper it was.

The, sift the coconut flour, baking powder/soda (I know these are different things, but we didn’t have soda in our house, so we used baking powder, and the muffins turned out amazing, so I’m just going to go with what we had), salt, and spices into small bowl. Stir to blend well and then set this bowl aside.

Place pumpkin puree (or mashed sweet potato) in a medium mixing bowl. One by one, crack the eggs into the bowl, mixing everything well between each egg cracking (I used an electric mixer). Add melted coconut oil or butter, maple syrup if you use it, and the vanilla extract all together, and mix really well.

Add flour mixture to egg mixture and blend well with a whisk until most of the floury lumps have disappeared (and I actually did mix with a whisk at this point), DO NOT stir more than necessary to blend. Gently fold in nuts, if using them.

Spoon this deliciousness into the muffin tin liners to about 2/3rds full. Back for 18-20 minutes, until lightly golden brown on top, and toothpick (or japanese chopstick as we used) inserted into center of muffin is clean when taken out 🙂

Tack them out and cool them on a wire rack (or on top of your stove…). Serve it like you like it, hot or cold, and remember this most importantly…ENJOY EVERY BITE ! 😀 Giggling after each bite out of amazement…optional.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So last night was “Murph” at Crossfit. I did not, however, make it to Murph. Why!?!!? Well, I changed up after work, walked to the train, and I was “in the zone”, mentally prepping for the workout, when out of no where I am AMBUSHED by a tall, dark, GORGEOUS man in green. I was SOOOO surprised and SOOOO confused when I focused in and realized Nick was IN BOSTON! He had gotten out of work early, and surprised me for dinner. I could tell he was nervous a little…he told me that he was panicking that I had somehow snuck by him and that he had missed his chance. Nervously, he asked me if I would like to skip Murph to have dinner with him. DUH! Murph WHO!? 🙂

Then as we are walking toward the bathrooms so I can change back OUT of my workout gear, he hands me a note. The note told me that tonight’s date/dinner was to celebrate the changes, successes and accomplishments that I have…well, accomplished, in the last year. He’s awesome isn’t he? 🙂

Luckily, it was RESTAURANT week! So, I finally got to eat a Ruth’s Chris, which is in my BUILDING! After 2.5 years, I have yet to taste their delicious fare. Well, last night I enjoyed every single bite of that filet (even though they seemed to PRIDE themselves on trapping the “corn-fed flavor” in the meat…huh?), garlic mashed potatoes and um…butter; lots and lots of butter. Yikes! It was delicious though, and the time spent with Nick was just so special to me.

After dinner, we walked over to the Boston Common and layed on the grass looking up at the sky. We may or may not have dosed off for a few :-p Then Nick told me that there was a letter that was sent to the practice for ME! It was addressed to Franson Family Chiropractic, in care of Nick, but with an attention to me….from New York! Nick said he was so dang curious to open it up, and that he couldn’t WAIT for me to open it. I was wracking my BRAIN to try to think of who I would know from New York besides my dear friend, Brett. Then Nick told me that he could see through the paper a little, and saw “GRATEFUL” in big letters faintly. When he said this, I instantly got butterflies. Could this be about my blog?

As soon as we pulled into our driveway, we both hurried up the stairs, excited to open the letter. It was a card. I opened it and instantly felt a little emotional without reading a single word. In the tiniest writing, both sides of the cards insides were covered in green ink. Nick couldn’t handle it anymore, and wanted me to read it to him too, so I decided to read it outloud to him and myself. As Nick layed on the floor of our office, and I sat on our chiropractic bench, I read the letter outloud. This incredible lady started reading my blog back from the beginning and has made some PHENOMINAL changes in her life (started eating Paleo and started Crossfit in April in NYC!!!!) and wanted to thank me for writing my blog. I don’t want to put too many details in here, since it was a personal card from her…but it was so special to me. I had to stop reading more than a handful of times to regain my voice, and to wipe away some tears. Knowing that people are not just actually reading this, but making changes in their own life…wow…that impacted me in such a deeply meaningful way. Then I went straight to the computer to show Nick who she is on facebook, and sure enough, her freakin’ profile picture of her DEADLIFTING some SERIOUS weight!!! You GOOOOO girl!!! You have not just made some changes, from what I can tell, you’ve made some PHENOMINAL, LIFE CHANGING, INSPIRING changes!!! I can’t WAIT to be able to do what you’re doing in that picture! 🙂

I love all of you (sorry, I’m a wee bit emotional today…and I had the hardest time falling asleep because I kept thinking about that letter) for the support, the kind words, and the changes you may have started/gone through. You all are so amazing, and I’m LUCKY to have YOU in my life!

Have an amazing day! What are YOU grateful for today?

Love,

Jen

5 thoughts on “As Promised…

  1. Alexis says:

    … I just got the chills, Jen. I’m so so sooooo excited to hear about the impact your blog is making!! It doesn’t surprise me at all – your words have encouraged myself and so many of our mutual friends SO deepy in the recent year. It’s truly a breath of fresh air to read…

    .. just sent your link to 3 of my friends who just started xfit… my mom being one of them!!

    Thank you for sharing your heart so freely, love. It’s making an incredible impact.

    LOVE YOU,
    LEx

  2. Judi says:

    I may have told you this already but you’ve inspired me!! I can’t wait to get to Boston in 1.5 weeks and start making the changes 🙂 especially since you’ll be there to help haha!!

Leave a Reply

