Running and Recipes: Part 2!

Good morning 🙂 So far my day has been amazing, and it’s not even 10am yet!! I was up at 5:30am, ready, and out the door at 6:30 to meet up with my friend Sarah for breakfast this morning at the glorious Omelette Palace/Heaven/Haven/Emporium/Headquarters…insert random work here, I have probably called it that at one point…

I have a LOT to fill you in on, so I’m going to do this in as much of an organized fashion as I can…bullet style!

~Saturday I put together a recipe from Mark Sisson’s “Primal Cookbook” for a cookoff with Franson Family Chiropractic. The cookoff was split up into catagories like salads, entrees and desserts. I made a salad that included the following:

Brocolli Bacon Salad

~bacon

~blueberries

~broccoli

~raisins

~crushed pecans

~ homemade dressing (eggs, olive oil, coconut oil, honey, fresh squeezed lemon and limes). According to the recipe, it’s “homemade mayo”, but since we did not have the ingredients that the book called for, we made up our own :))

If that sounds a little odd, I can totally understand why…but it was delicious…and it won!!! The cookoff was judged on taste and nutrition. Bacon?? How is bacon healthy?? Well folks, bacon is TOTALLY paleo friendly, ESPECIALLY uncured, nitrate free bacon! I whisked the eggs (1), olive oil (1/4 cup), coconut oil (1/4 cup), squeezed lemon and lime (1/2 or each or one whole), once all these ingredients are whisked well together, pour in honey (3 tablespoons) and whisk in well! Ta-da! Go by taste though, because this was more of a “winging it” situation for me.

Then toss together raw broccoli (buy just the broccoli crowns, less is wasted), blueberries (or strawberries, raisins, apples or grapes!), chopped pecans (or almonds, or walnuts!) and BACON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Enjoy 🙂

~Mondays are becoming my new favorite ME time nights. The last two Mondays I have gone home, started dinner, and went out for a run. While cooking I love playing music and just decompressing. To top that off, on my run, I like to NOT listen to music now. I actually like to connect with my own breath and listen to my body. I feel like I clear my thoughts this way much better than running with music…duh. hehe.

So last night, I was riding on the train, and found a recipe for chili. I had never made chili before!!! Project! So once I got home, I took out everything I would need, turned on my Ipod, started chopping, sautĂ©ing and stirring…then once everything was in the pot, I tied on my shoes and hit the pavement for 3 miles!! 3 MILES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now, I know to some of you, 3 miles is your warmup…HOWEVER, just a couple weeks ago I had never run two miles consequetively…and I ran 3 last night, pretty easily! I noticed while running last night that after a minute my breathing was regulated, and it wasn’t physically hard anymore…it was alllll mental. I felt like I was running forever, and for me that was the hardest part. How long did it take me?! 30 minutes from door step to door step 😀 I’ll TAKE IT!!!!!

Now for the chili. It was tasty!! Quite spicy, and quite delicious! I would definitely say it was a success for my first ever chili!! 😀 The recipe I have makes 4 meals (each serving 4 people), so its HUGE….you can scale back as you wish 🙂

Beef and Bean Chili

1/4 cup olive oil

3 large red onions, chopped

4 green bell peppers, chopped

8 cloves garlic, chopped

3 lbs ground beef (preferably grass-fed -thats my 2 cents)

1 6-ounce can tomato paste

3 tablespoons chili powder

1 tablespoon ground cumin

4 28-ounce cans diced tomatoes

4 15-ounce cans kidney beans (rinsed)

4 ounces semisweet chocolate (chopped) (I had no idea either!!!!)

Kosher salt and pepper (or just regular salt and pepper would be fine I’m assuming…. :-p)

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

Chop the veggies (onions, garlic and peppers) and saute them first in olive oil until they’re tender (they think it’ll take about 12-15 minutes)

Then, cook up the beef right in the pot with the veggies. Cook until no longer pink, and at that point put in the tomato paste, chili powder and cumin, cook and stir for a good 2 minutes 🙂

Put the tomatoes, beans and chocolate in now. Add 1-2 cups of water (to your liking of consistency), salt and pepper, and bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat and simmer until its slightly thickened (stir from time to time), for about 25-30 minutes. Pour in red wine vinegar, stir, and simmer off the alcohol (or at least that’s what I did…).

Cube up some avocado and red onions to sprinkle on top 😀 now…EAT IT!!! 😀

Have a great rest of your Tuesday guys 😀 Do you have a go-to recipe????

Love,

Jen

Leave a Reply

