Face Down…

 

Warning: Beverly Sidewalks Have The Tendency To Jump Up Under You

 

 

So remember how I told you about how October was going to be pretty crazy?? Yeah…my lack of posting is in direct correlation to that very statement. Since October 1st hit, it has been a whirlwind of activity…and I have LOVED it! I literally have never felt a month go by so fast in my life! We’ve had house guests pretty much since the 1st, and they’ve all been sooooo wonderful! πŸ™‚

I do, however, have a story for you πŸ™‚

This past Saturday, Nick and I wanted to get a workout in before the day was over. We decided on doing a 3-mile loop for time. Now, trust me, I was not so disillusioned that I thought I was actually going to be running with Nick the whole time…and sure enough, after about thirty seconds, he was pulling away.

“Bye!”

I was feeling pretty good. The sky was blue, the sun was bright, and I didn’t feel like my lungs were about to explode…whats NOT to love? πŸ™‚ After about 1.5 miles, I turn right onto Water Street from Lothrop…and within a matter of seconds (without having any clue as to HOW this happened…) I found myself face first down on the tar. Hands splayed out in front of me, the entire first layer of skin taken clean off my left knee and elbow, and worse yet…my pride shattered. I look around to see if anyone saw, and thankfully, not a soul in sight. My hands, elbow and knees are numb and covered in blood…and after a few moments I think, “I could sit here longer, limp home, put on a pouty face….OR, I could get my bum off the ground, keep running and attempt to at least not DESTROY my time for this run” (my time for the 3-mile loop was 30 minutes, and for some reason, I just couldn’t break it!).

I get up, palms unable to close, and I start running toward home. At one point, I look down and notice that my leg has blood running down my shin…but I realize that walking will only allow it to run further. I run by a man sitting in a chair outside his shop, and with his mouth wide open, and deadpan eyes, he says, “whats up….?” in the same deadpan tone as his stare. I’m pretty sure he thought I was crazy.

Just as I turn the last big bend before I’m home, I step on a rock the size of a tennis ball and roll my left ankle. At this point, tears come to my eyes and I REALLY think about just walking the last little bit home, but the stubborn, pig-headed competitor in me decided against it.

Now TYPICALLY, on the last little straight away I sprint home, but this time I kept my pace steady. I could see Nick at the end of the driveway holding the timer, ready to push stop as soon as I crossed the “finish line”. He was yelling to me to pick it up, that I was almost there, and other various supportive things πŸ™‚ I kept moving the same pace.

As I crossed the line he clicks stop and yells “YEAH BABY!! 27 MINUTES FLAT!! You shaved three minutes off your run!!!!”

It was only then that he noticed the blood running down my leg and the other assortment of purples and blues on my legs and arms.

At this point, do you think I REALLY cared??? I shaved three minutes off my 3 mile…and broke a time that I found impossible to break…all while leaving a piece of me permanently with Beverly forever πŸ™‚ What a productive run that was πŸ™‚

Posted in: Uncategorized

11 thoughts on “Face Down…

  1. steelbladeninja says:

    πŸ™‚ Sounds kinda like my pre-Beverly Homecoming in-line skating EAT-fest on the sidewalk of Cabot St (warning: don’t skate on Beverly sidewalks)…except for the fact that I didn’t break any records and I didn’t really have anything to celebrate (I was happy that I got to sit in the dark for a while behind the crowd).

    Just over a week ’til Cider Mash 5k 2010!!! WOOOHOOO!!!

  2. judi says:

    Jenn AMAZING that you shaved 3 minutes off your time!! Imagine if that tar had left you alone you would have saved even more time πŸ™‚

    Also if it makes you feel better I almost got taken out by a revolving door earlier this week AND lots of people saw haha

    Have a happy happy happy Friday…yes that’s right 3 happy’s πŸ™‚

    Lots O’ Love

  3. judi says:

    well I’d like to blame it on the door due to poor construction….but it was all me….a little more pushing a little less speed and things would have been o.k…..instead I pushed a little less sped up a little more and jammed my foot in the door…and came flying out stumbling onto the sidewalk haha I wish I could have seen it because I bet it looked pretty funny…as it was I could barely walk to the train it hurt so bad haha!!

  4. Kelsalynn says:

    You Rock! Hell yeah girl! Hopefully you took it easy the rest of the day 1) because you deserved it after hitting a 3-min PR and 2) you were obviously accident-prone that day πŸ™‚

    Talk about perseverence!

    Enjoy the rest of our October.

  5. Rose says:

    Hey Jen!

    Not sure if we know each other but I had recently joined NorthShore Crossfit and think we were in a Saturday class together once. I was introduced to your site by Alexis G. and love reading your blog, but just had to finally make a comment after reading this post…..Great Job!!!!! Very impressive!!!!! You’re a super writer and I often find myself picturing what you’re describing. I actually live in the area where you fell and know how the tree roots do a number on the pavement. Consider your injuries as war wounds and show them proudly….YOU SHAVED 3 MINUTES OFF YOUR TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Keep up the great work!

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      haha, heck yeah Rose, I remember taking a class with you πŸ™‚ And NICE work on your crossfit total!!! Super impressive πŸ™‚ and it only goes up from there πŸ˜€ Looking forward to the NEXT class we have together πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. Rose says:

    Thanks….given I’m such a competitive person, I would have liked to see a bigger number..especially on my back squat. But I figure at 51, never doing any kind of weightlifting in my life, and still recovering from two shoulder repairs surgeries last year, I should be happy I wasn’t hospitalized after yesterday’s total!!! LOL πŸ™‚

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      given the fact that at 51 you decide that you want to undergo a huge life change such as joining Crossfit, THAT ALONE should be enough to celebrate! You rock!!!!! and inspire me πŸ™‚

  7. Rose says:

    You’re so sweet…thanks.
    Being a true Italian from New York, I figure the only time I have the right to slow down is when I’m dead. So the way I look at it, Crossfit is going to either make me faster (and stronger) or dead! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

