I Could Officially Kick My Own @ss :-p (in theory)

About 10 months ago, for the first time ever, I met “Crossfit Total”. There was lots of buzz around it leading up to the workout, and I was entirely all too nervous for a “gym class”. You can read about my experienceΒ HERE.

So for the sake of repetition, the workout goes as follows!:

You have:

15 minutes to find your max for backsquat

15 minutes to find your max press

15 minutes to find your max deadlift

I really only had one goal this time around: to break 300. Now this may seem silly and small, but last time, I was LITERALLY the only person to not break 300, and I was determined to do so this time!

Here’s a reminder of what my score was, and the breakdown of that score in January!:

Total Score: 290

Back squat: 110

Press: 50

Deadlift: 130

This time for the back squat, I was thinking I could maybe squat 130. I was working on the same platform as the beastly (but very deceivingly so) Lauren Cecilia πŸ™‚ We were going back and forth matching each other on the back squat, with the constant help and support of Mr. JP πŸ™‚ He wouldn’t tell us what the weight was on there, weight lifting is soooooooooo mental! When we finally did our three official tries for our max, we topped at 145. That would be the last time I matched Miss Cecilia :-p

So back squat:

Old: 110; New: 145 (+35)

Next was the press. This is the one that frustrates me the most…I seem to have ZERO upper body strength :-p Last time I did this I struggled to get 50#, and while I did make some progress this time, it’s definitely slow. We were joking last night that press’ are the most frustrating lift ever….you can’t really scream, or grunt the weight up like you can some others (*cough* Cas *cough* :-p), but it seems to just hover in front of your face, taunting you…ugh! I had three full attempts and failed at two…but I DID PR, with a whopping 60# :-p Ta-DAAA!

Press:

Old: 50; New: 60 (+10)

Finally, the last of the three lifts was the deadlift. Ahhh, the deadlift. So many women in my class seem to crush the 200 mark with this, while I was still working on my body weight (and no, it is not quite 200 pounds, haha). So, I can officially say after last night, I could easily deadlift more than my BIGGEST self, 15 pounds ago! πŸ˜€ It’s pretty crazy how with one lift (165), while it was definitely challenging however completely doable, adding 10 pounds to the bar can make all the difference in the world (LIKE NOT EVEN BUDGING! TWICE!). Oh well! I have a place to start next time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Deadlift:

Old: 130; New: 165 (+35)

TOTAL SCORE:

Old: 290; New: 370!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would say I blew that 300 goal right out the window!

So, what is my goal for the NEXT Crossfit Total? To break 400!

OH! Just as a reminder…remember how I vowed on here that I would run the Cider Hill Mash 5k?? Well, it is just about here!! The Cider Hill Mash is this Sunday, at 11am at the Cider Hill Farm in North Andover, MA! I’m getting pretty nervous, but soooo excited as well. I have the honor of running it with my good friend Miss Alexis Girvan. I have two goals for this race….

1) To finish. Honestly, I’m not looking to break any PR’s here, or whatever…I’m looking to PROVE to MYSELF and myself ONLY that I can do this. I know I can run 3 miles…I’ve done it, more than a few times…but races, and weightlifting, and competition in general get in my head. SO, I just want to finish, feeling good…which leads me into my SECOND goal…

2) To finish with a smile, and like it enough to want to do ANOTHER! That’s all I really want, to have fun during the race πŸ™‚

Looking forward to the chaos/wonderfulness of this weekend with both Nick and I’s families here!!!! Big first meeting of the families πŸ˜€ woooot! Have a great Wednesday guys πŸ™‚ Love you!

Jen

7 thoughts on “I Could Officially Kick My Own @ss :-p (in theory)

  1. judi says:

    You are going to rock it, have fun doing it, AND want to do another one :)!!! This is my prediction…and I can see into the future in case you were wondering πŸ˜‰
    Luvs
    Judi

  2. Kelsalynn says:

    WOW! You go girl! That’s a huge improvement! I’m pumped for you! Did you leave the gym FULL of smiles or what?!?!??

    I’m w/ you on the press- SUCKY-SUCKY! πŸ™‚

    Good luck this weekend. I think your goals are perfect!

    • nadeaujl5 says:

      thanks Lady!!!! πŸ˜€ and yes, I most definitely DID leave the gym with all smiles. After my 145# backsquat, I let a good “WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!” go πŸ™‚ I was pumped! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

