Cure For Cramps?

Goooood morning! It is the last Thursday of 2010, and my last Thursday here on the East side 🙂 Today is Nick’s last day in the office, and our last night in our house. Holy jeez…I should definitely be packing right now, but I’m going to take a few short moments with you while I drink my coffee!

Yesterday, they came back…dun dun dunnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn….those crazy cramps. Guys, if you’re not interested in reading about this, now would be the time to turn back. It’s not going to get any worse than that, well maybe it will, we never know do we? So, here’s your chance to back away from the computer… 🙂

Okay, if you’re still with me, HELLO! So yesterday, the cramps, they were BAD!!! Last time this happened I was writhing in pain and Nick didn’t know what to do, and we came to the conclusion I wasn’t drinking enough water and it made it far worse than it needed to be. Well, this time, I started out the month STRONG on the water intake, and slowly fell off that wagon as the month went on. The closer it got to when I thought it would be starting up again, I panicked and started sucking water like it was my job…but…too late. Yesterday came and hit me like a ton of bricks.

Ps: Can I just say that I find it very humorous that I started this blog about exercise, and it seems to be that the thing I have the most emails or questions about, and the highest hitting post is all about lady stuff? :-p Who would have thought…haha.

ANYWAY! The cramps hit me like a wall, and instantly I started pacing….and swaying…and squatting down, standing up, squatting down, standing up. I can NOT sit still when I am in pain. This is why it makes NOOOOOO sense at ALLLL to me that women in labor would be put flat on their back! It hurts so much more when you’re stationary. Yes, I know that cramps are not labor, although, I’m feeling very prepared for labor with my history of cramps, but its the same muscle, and it just makes sense that we need to move! Naturally my body just wants to wiggle and move as much as possible! As soon as I sit down or lay down, it’s exponentially more painful.

I was doing squats in the middle of the kitchen while whimpering and crying when Nick asked me if I wanted to go to the gym to see if that would make me feel better. Ha! Old Jen would have slowly turned my tear soaked face up at him, with a look of disgust and would have asked “does it LOOK like I want to go to the gym???”. Maybe I wouldn’t have…but that’s what one side of my brain was saying yesterday anyway. The other side of me was thinking, Yes….let’s MOVE! Luckily, that is the side that spoke up.

I slowly waddled to the car, whimpering the whole way (oh it is FUN up in this house when those things are happening….trust me!). I decided on the car ride over that I was just going to row. I was going to row a 5k. That is 5000 meter, 3.2 miles! 😀 A few years back when I was part of a regular gym, I got on a rower and could NOT row for even 5 minutes straight. Rowing is not as easy as it looks! Well yesterday I was bound and determined to do a 5k…and guess what?! As soon as I got on that rower, the cramps just POOF, went away. I sat on that rower, rowing obviously, for 22:18 minutes STRAIGHT! It. Was. Awesome!!!

Guess what guys…in life, we’re going to have suffering. That is not being negative..its just the truth. We will have suffering in life. However, there is such a beautiful side to this…

We get to choose our suffering. 🙂

Yesterday, instead of suffering with cramps, I chose to “suffer” on the rower. That is SO much more PRODUCTIVE and so much better FOR me!

As soon as I got off the rower, almost instantly, the pain came back. I ran for the pullup bar. Threw in some pullups. Then did some double unders. Finally, after all of that…they were gone. Without me even realizing it, my cramps were gone. I had literally worked those little suckers right into the GROUND!!

So, lesson learned from this? Drink more water, and someday when I go into labor I’m just going to start rowing till it’s time to push 🙂 hehe 😀

Have an incredible day 🙂 Love you all!

xoxo, Jen

3 thoughts on “Cure For Cramps?

  1. Julia says:

    Wow, I seriously would not have thought exercise could make cramps better. I usually lie down when I’m hurting — maybe I should think twice about that. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Also, wanted to let you know that I’m so excited for you guys and the journey ahead! Best of luck to you in California!

Leave a Reply

