I Think It’s Time You Knew…

…that your pal, Jen, here can make one meannnnnn salad!

I’ve been holding out on you guys…and I apologize! I AM, however, going to make it up to you RIGHT NOW by letting you in on how it is that I create these culinary masterpieces!

It’s simple, any good recipe needs a little structure, so…

…the breakdown.

Pick one or more (if noted) of the following categories:

LEAF:

Kale (alarm alarm!!! this is my most favorite leaf on the planet! There are so many positive benefits from kale, and other dark leafy greens…like calcium retention! Milk is NOT doing our body good guys…), spinach, chard, lettuce (all kinds), arugula, beet greens, the tops of Brussel stalks (so tasty!!), Bok choy, cabbage (why not?)

VEGETABLE (pick as many as you want!):

cucumbers, tomatoes, carrots, snap peas, string beans, peas, onions, broccoli, celery, fiddleheads, peppers, celery, cauliflower, aspargus, shallots, GO CRAZY!! add some sweet potato chunks if you want!

FRUIT:

I usually only pick one fruit (I know a few of those “vegetables” are technically fruits (tomatoes, peppers…which I find kind of weird, and still consider them vegetables :-p)

strawberries, blueberries, black raspberries, raspberries, grapes (red or green!), apple chunks, pomegranate seeds, clementine, or anything else you’d like to try..honestly…GO CRAZY!

FAT:

I LOVE adding HEALTHY fat to my salad, and I usually do so in more way than one! Pick TWO of the following if you will 🙂

nuts! (almonds, pecans, walnuts, macadamian nuts, brazilian nuts, hazelnuts, etc etc. I have read that the two top winners for nuts are macadamian nuts and hazelnuts…they have the highest amount of monounsaturated fats of any nuts!! which is GREAT guys…go for these if you can!), avocado, coconut chips (which might be weird unless it was a fruit salad…if thats the case, then YES YES YES!!), olives

MEAT:

Make sure no matter what you’re putting on your salad for meat (protein), that it’s healthy! Typically I put the following on my salads: Trader Joes all natural chicken sausage, tuna fish, hard-boiled eggs (or even fried!), chicken, grass-fed beef or steak, nitrate free bacon 🙂

DRESSING:

I always, always do three trips around the bowl of extra virgin olive oil, and balsamic vinaigrette. If this isn’t something you’re into, but trust me its delicious, check out Brianna’s dressings..CRACK…CRACK I SAY!!!

So, today I made a salad that consisted of: kale, carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, cooked onions, avocado, tuna fish with dijon mustard (in lieu of the mayo, ick), macadamian nuts, red grapes and dressing…results???…

PS: Think salads are only for dinner and lunch? No way…check out this good looking BREAKFAST SALAD!!!

Leave a Reply

