Oh Heyyyyy ;)

Oh where, oh where has this little gal gone?!!

Before you stone me, let me explain!! Since moving to SB, we have been up to our eyeballs in sheet rock dust and my ass covered in lululemon. What the heck does that mean?! When I have not been working at lulu, I have been working for Santa Barbara Family Chiropractic, trying to get it open! One thing I realized, however, that my life was missing DRAMATICALLY (I’m not dramatic, am I?) is…dun da da DAH!!!! BLOGGING!

For the Santa Barbara Family Chiropractic site, I wrote a post today about gratitude, annndddd it seems super fitting for this blog too…because strength and beauty are far more than aesthetics alone.

Before I share my post with you, however, I wanted to let you know…

I have been BACK at it with Crossfitting, AND ran my second ever 5k the other night (and plan on doing it every Wednesday for the remainder of summer!!). I feel like I’m getting my muscles back, my body back, my MIND back…and it feels SUUUUPERB 🙂 Bringin’ sexy back..uhhhh 🙂

Okay…onward…

…Here it is 🙂  (You can read it HERE) or here…

How often do you hear someone say, “I wish I had more time in my day!”. Guys, lets get right to it, time is the one great equalizer…we all have the same 1,440 minutes in a day. Not all of us are born with long legs, or excel in math…but we ALL have 1,440 minutes, no matter how you slice or dice it!

Well, I have discovered a way to ADD minutes to your day! Yes, I have! Are you ready?…

Slow your minutes down.

SAY WHAT?! How have I even gotten this far into reading this? Slow my minutes down??

Yes…slow your minutes down.

Do you remember those summer days when you were a kid, walking barefoot across the hot tar with a book in your hand and a glass of cold lemonade? Do you remember taking time to pick the prettiest daisys for your mom to put on display at your kitchen table in her best vase? What about the winters when you would play outside in the snow, come in with bright red cheeks and sweat matted hair, to strip yourself of your snowsuit and sit at the table with a hot cup of cocoa?

Why do you remember those moments?

Because you were fully present in them…you were fully living in the moment.

As adults, I feel like we so often go through one day after another, checking off our to-do lists, killing time (ahhh!! the horror!) playing online scrabble at work, complaining about housework and our jobs…only to live for the weekend (hey I know I am guilty as charged at times!). What if we lived in a world where we took notice of every moment, were grateful for each moments gifts, and were fully present at all times?

My sweet friend Alexis came to visit Nick and I this past weekend here in California. Alexis is the QUEEN of journaling, and as I picked her brain about it, I noticed a book on the ground that caught my attention. I picked it up and read the back…love…I want to read this book! “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp, I write it down. On the way to the bus station, I hear Alexis in the back seat scribbling something down, but I think nothing of it. As we turn the corner, she hands me a book wrapped in twine (beautiful too!)…”One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp. She was so thrilled that I had been so interested in reading it, since she had already purchased it for me before she even arrived in California!! 🙂

I have been since reading this book like a mad-woman…and I am just truly in love. As soon as I need to put down the book, I’m excited for the next time I get to pick it up again. The basis of this book is all about gratitude…and fully living in the moment, wherever you are. So often we feel our lives would be better if only I could this, or if I could only that… What if we stopped if onlying, and started just doing…right now? She was given a love dare to find 1000 gifts in her daily life…and so she did. She kept a gratitude journal open on her table, and in her purse when she left the house…and whenever one of life’s gifts popped up (which they do, and often), she wrote it down…

Why do I need to write it down?

The beauty of writing it down is this: “In naming that which is right before me, that which I’d otherwise miss, the invisible becomes visible”

How TRUE is that?!

How often do you say thank you for the smell of delicious (paleo) cookies baking in the oven, the way the sun feels on your face while you lay in the grass, the way a delicious peach is nourishing your body, seeing an elderly couple holding hands and smiling at each other in love…when was the last time you said thank you for those “everyday” things? What if you looked at them as gifts? Do you think that may change the way you look at them? And if you feel differently about those things, don’t you think you’ll start looking at EVERYTHING a little differently?

We can all learn to be grateful. Learning takes practice, and practice takes action. Can you start a list of all life’s gifts with me? Let’s start slowing those minutes down and really seeing how much each minute in our day has to offer 🙂

Thank you Alexis for the beautiful gift…

In gratitude,

Jen

I miss you all, and plan on getting a little vid-action out to you soon 🙂

Love much,

2 thoughts on “Oh Heyyyyy ;)

Leave a Reply

