Too Buff?

The media has a long history of creating trends for the rest of us commoners to follow; think “the Rachel” cut…

Kathrine Hepburn caused quite a stir when she was the first actress to wear a pair of pants in a major motion picture, much like Jennifer Beals inspired a nation of young women to start cutting up their sweatshirts. Twiggy began the era of the “waif”…so what’s next?…

Strong women in the media have been getting a lot of flack for working out a little TOO hard, and I’m not talking about the celebrities spending hours on an elliptical to achieve that freshly hungry look…

…I’m talking about…

Madonna

Cameron Diaz

Jessica Biel

Check out this video…

Since starting Crossfit, I have heard this a million times. “Oh Jen, don’t do too much Crossfit, then you’ll start to look like one of those freakishly ripped women…and that is just not hot.” Luckily I am strong enough in my values to know that no matter what anyone else says, I think it IS hot! I also know that even if these particular people don’t think I’m hot once I get to that point…at least Nick and myself will! :-p

Some of the biggest trends in media history that caused the biggest stir…stuck around. Can you imagine what people must of thought when Katherine Hepburn graced the silver screen in…*gasp*…PANTS! That is SO unlady like…The next time you’re walking around town, count the amount of women wearing pants…I’d say it caught on. So, the question is…will THIS trend stick around?

Could it be that with more and more actresses sporting strong bodies, that a movement toward healthy strong women could be on the rise? Let’s keep rockin’ our workouts lady…and turn this skinny-obsessed world around! 🙂

Love,

Jen

5 thoughts on “Too Buff?

  1. mom says:

    you go girl i am so proud you are strong enough woman to do what makes you happy and what you believe in love you very much

  2. breathingpowderedgold says:

    Haha, I love your comment about Audrey Hepburn wearing pants. I can’t imagine not being able to wear.. well, pretty much whatever I want!

  3. Kathryn says:

    I think the news should spend its time and money reporting how much happier and healthier these “too buff” women are instead of discouraging this trend. So much less money would be spent on sick…oops, I mean health care and everyone out there would be the better for it. So much of our society may still be dominated by men, but at the foundation of it all are women. And I don’t know about you, but I’d much rather have a “too buff” woman at the foundation of my society because I’m not sure those hungry skinny girls are strong enough for task 🙂

Leave a Reply

