Commitment…what does that mean to you?

“The moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too. All sorts
of things occur to help one that would never otherwise occurred. A whole stream
of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of
unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance which no man could
have dreamed would have come his way. Whatever you can do or dream you can,
begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.”

— William Hutchinson-Murray
 We have had the office open now for just over a month. In the last 7 months since we landed at East Beach in Santa Barbara and looked around at our new home…there have been some ups (way ups) and some downs (way downs…). There have been many a 15 hour days, countless apologies to family and friends for not being able to keep in touch nearly as much as I would like (or at all in some cases), many missed workouts, a few nights of crying myself to sleep and more days than I would like to admit of showering Nick with my frustrations.
I have always considered myself a pretty darn happy lady…but in the last few months, after having this unattractively large amount of grumpy days, I have been on a quest to be more grateful and all-around happier. I have been reading and doing as much as I can to create less emotional pollution for myself and those around me. So, on the heaviest of darker days, when I’m lucky, I have a moment of catching a good look at myself and thinking…”ew…you are NOT a nice person…how can I fix this?” I think after spending more than enough hours this morning with a furrowed brow, I broke through to this moment. Thank goodness.
I read a new (to me) blog to lighten my mood a bit…and wow, it was exactly what I needed to read. You can read the whole post here, but the part that really got to me was the quote by William Hutchinson-Murray that I, too, began my post with. That quote got me thinking as I was driving across town to run a few errands for the office…
…I haven’t fully committed.
I obviously packed up all the belongings I had left (most of which I sold in a yard sale…), committed to driving for two weeks in a car with my new fiance (being engaged, a huge commitment in itself of course!), with everything we ever owned, with no idea of where we would call home once we got to California. I committed to the idea of all that is our life right now (two jobs, a successful Chiropractic clinic, working with my future husband, living in Santa Barbara for the rest of my life…) but did I really commit to the reality of it?
Did I commit to the reality that we WOULD have some 15 hour days (and when I say some, I mean a lot to most…for a little while anyway), that I would be WORKING with my fiance and having to take direction from him…that I wouldn’t have a formal training on how to do my job, nor necessarily have a clue what my job entailed…that we would be pretttty poor for a while…that I would have to find time to call friends around my 15 hour days and a three-hour time difference…that people may look at me as only a receptionist even though I’m doing much more, and that I may not get credit for it…
Did I really commit to that?? the reality?
The answer is no.
As the quote says, when you commit, whether it be to being rich, being healthier than you ever imagined, getting your law degree…what EVER that commitment may be…when you commit, truly commit…the universe will bend over backward to make sure that you reach that goal.
This topic also relates so strongly to not just committing to a life/career change…it relates to EVERYTHING…like HEALTH (did you really think I would get through a whole post without mentioning that?!)! When it comes to Crossfit, if I walk up to a bar loaded with 200#,  if I am questioning whether I have the ability to pick that weight up, or think that I can just bail at any second if it gets too hard…chances are, that bar is not moving. I need to walk up to that bar KNOWING I will pick it up off the floor (with good form of course!)…if I walk up to it with that attitude, and I STILL don’t get it off the floor, so be it…but I will never get it off the floor with a half-ass attitude. When it comes to our chiropractic clinic, we have our patients COMMIT to care, and we give them recommendations for the exact recipe that will get them to the healthiest version of themselves. If they truly commit, and followed the recommendations we give them, they WILL reach their goals…the universe will bend over BACKWARDS to make sure that happens (and so will we :)) Being a good patient brings the best results…
 I am in this. Whether there are long days, or tough schedules…I am the luckiest woman on the planet. I GET to work with my fiance, in SANTA BARBARA, CA doing exactly what I love…talking about health and wellness! I GET to be a part of all these beautiful people’s lives, and walk with them through their health journey…how cool is THAT?!
So what are the things in your life that you’ve been wanting to do, teetering on the edge of doing, or just admiring from afar? What are those things in your life that you could have if you just committed to it? Let’s commit together to rising above mediocrity and allowing our true potential to shine through…we are all bright and shiny (some days more than others :-p)!
I’m grateful for you all, have a wonderful day 🙂
Love,
Jen
6 thoughts on “Commitment…what does that mean to you?

  1. Devin Shea says:

    Jen,

    Great post today. All chiropractic families face those same challenges. The more congruent you are in your daily life the easier it will be to stand up to the daily swing from positives to challenges. Remember that ALL things are both negative and positive depending on your perspective. Chose to be neutral and you will weather the storm. Enjoy the ride!!!

    • beautifullystrong says:

      Thank you Devin…that’s great advice, to remain neutral. It’s important to remember that the universe is always moving toward balance, so both positive and negative are required to balance us all.

  2. Nicholas Araza says:

    Such a great post Jen! As you know, somedays positive change in a person is much more obvious than others, this post proves a big day. So proud of you and lucky to have you in my life and rep’ing our awesome new biz.

  3. Katie says:

    This reminds me of one of my husband, Jeremy’s favorite things to say. He says ‘You are neutral. Nothing bad or good ever happens to you. Things just happen and it depends on how you choose to deal with them, learn from them, find a silver lining, etc.’ Jen, I love this quote and your post! Looking back I realized that everything that I really wanted in life (go to UCSB, go to PT school, become a PT, marry Jeremy), happened because I was fully committed and determined. i.e. I didn’t get accepted to my dream school UCSB when I applied, but I didn’t accept that. I looked into all my options, I appealed the decision… and what do you know?! They let me in that very same year! And without that determination… I wouldn’t have been where I am today ..or met your fiance and you! Congrats to you two on the new practice and the engagement! 🙂

  4. beautifullystrong says:

    Reblogged this on and commented:

    It’s half way through the year, and it’s time to check in on our goals. How are they coming? Are you crushing them, or are they crushing you? Maybe it’s time to check in with our commitment…

Leave a Reply

