Knowing when to QUIT!

What do you want from me?

How many of us can sit down to a delicious meal, get to a point where we are definitely satisified…continue eating…we feel full…and keep eating STILL because it’s just so darn tasty!?!

I know I have.

Even more dangerous than that? Since eating a clean, paleo diet, I feel even more entitled to do that because, well..”it’s all healthy”!

A month ago I started a little experiment. I didn’t understand why I was still suffering (not nearly as much, mind you) with sporadic bouts of indigestion and sluggishness; I was eating clean, exercising, getting adjusted…what was the deal?! So the plan for the month was to eat to the point where I wasn’t feeling HUNGRY anymore. I didn’t want to reach the point of feeling full, I definitely didn’t want to reach the point of feeling too full…I just didn’t want to feel hungry anymore. I wanted to see how this would affect my body, mind and soul.

The results were very interesting.

I expected that I may lose some weight…I did…a little. I also, however, felt so much cleaner, and so much lighter! The best piece for me was that my digestion became very normal (sorry…) and I didn’t even think about it from day-to-day! Other little perks? We had more left overs, and Nick liked me more because I would give him what I didn’t eat :-p

What does Haaaaaaavaaaaaahd have to say about it?

Digestion involves a complex series of hormonal signals between the gut and the nervous system, and it seems to take about 20 minutes for the brain to register satiety (fullness). If you gobble down food too quickly, satiety may not occur until after you’ve gone overboard. There’s also reason to believe that eating while we’re distracted by activities like driving or working at a keyboard may slow down or stop digestion in a manner similar to how the “fight or flight” response occurs. And if we’re not digesting well, we may be missing out on the full nutritive value of our food.

~Harvard Health Letters

 

So, I’m doing soooo well, and then…one little meal comes along (I remember the meal too…ironically it was a salad!) and I jump off the “eat till you’re satiated” wagon. Before I know it, I’m eating till I’m full again…

Last night Nick and I were talking about how we wake up exhausted every morning. Why IS that? We go to bed at 9:30, 10 the latest…we exercise, we get adjusted, we eat clean, etc… I mean, yes, we’re under a lot of stress, but this much? Then Nick had a flashback to when Andrew was talking about Buckley (him and Kristen’s extremely handsome dog) and how he typically wakes up early, and with a copious amount of energy…unless he eats a big meal the night before.

B to the INGO!

More nights than not, Nick and I don’t even get home until 8pm, which means we’re eating at around 8:45-9pm, and to top it off, we go to bed at 9:30pm. Things NEED to change. Plus, I don’t really like cooking under those circumstances,  I like to make it an experience. Turn on some sexy music, drink a glass of red wine and mentally recharge as I chop onions 🙂

So, I’m back on the satiety wagon, and we’re going to make it a goal to eat dinner before 7:30pm! But…I’m going to need a little help from you on this…

What are some helpful tips you have discovered to ensure that you are prepared to cook and eat dinner at a reasonable hour when you have a busy schedule?

Much love,

Jen

5 thoughts on “Knowing when to QUIT!

  1. Kendra Hewitt says:

    Welcome to the club I am anxious to get out of. The last minute supper club after working at the office for 10 hours and trying to figure out how to feed an overgrown two year old who is afraid he is going to start losing muscle if he does not eat right now 🙂 I too love to take my time and pour some love and creativity into my meal at dinner. We were in the same trap regardless of how much I planned our meals of eating very late and in a very unrelaxed state which does wreck havoc on the digestion. My solution pick two nights that are not as late for you and cook enough for the in between days. Only way that it happens for us! Love K

  2. sbfamilychiro says:

    Too true K, we have got to start cooking for other days, but there don’t seem to be pans big enough to cook leftovers…any suggestions other than crock pots that last two or three days (great suggestion B, looking for other stuff on top of that.)

    Great post Jen!

Leave a Reply

