Three little letters…

How many times have we woke up January 1st, ready and roaring to go on our new resolutions? “Oh, this year I really WILL lose 10 pounds by March…I just know it!”

I, too, spent many years fantasizing about dropping weight and getting long, toned legs…but that is where it stayed…in my fantasies.

Why?

Exactly! Why?… (I’m sure you’re probably confused…hehe). WHY is the question we should all be asking ourselves when we step up to that resolution or goal. ‘Why’ is what creates traction…’WHY’ is what makes it stick.

I tried every diet under the sun between the ages of 14 and 26; raw food diet, weight watchers, drinking a gallon of water before each meal, even tried those crazy Hydroxycut pills (not a proud moment…I spent the entire day shaking like a leaf)… Some would work, for a hot minute…but then the weight would start to creep back up. I thought I was left to forever have “big bones” as one of my “friends” once told me…ouch.

June 24th, 2009, I fortunately stumbled across a nutrition workshop at Franson Family Chiropractic. I left that building a different person.

No one had ever told me WHY I feel sick when I eat grains and dairy; no one had ever told me WHY I should eat fat (FAT?! the horror….). No one had told me anything like it before, and for some reason, that was all it took for me. That was what made it stick for me; the WHY.

The other day Nick and I were having our tri-weekly workout with Andrew, Kristen and Casey in the gym, and he was feeling a little on the tired side. An old Simple Plan song came on, and a particular lyric made Nick think…

I’ve found a reason for me
To change who I used to be
A reason to start over new
and the reason is you

He told me on the car ride home that when he heard those lyrics, it made him think about WHY he is exercising, WHY he works his body hard…and it was for me and our future family. Super romantic huh? 🙂 But seriously…how MOTIVATING is that?! He said thinking that one thing made him work twice as hard with twice as much ease.

How powerful is that one word…

Why.

WHY are you exercising? WHY are you NOT exercising (because that is just as much a choice)? WHY do you eat vegetables? WHY do you eat donuts?

WHY.

See how that changes things for you…

4 thoughts on “Three little letters…

  1. resiliencesc says:

    Loved the post! I often times find myself searching for the “why” when it comes to eating clean and lifting heavy…even more so when I’m hitting a really rough workout that I just want to quit on. Great motivation!

Leave a Reply

