Allow yourself to be amazed

“Gratitude can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. It makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow.”  ~Unknown

Have you ever stopped, mid-{delicious}-sip of your morning coffee to wonder if the person next to you felt the same way mid-sip of their morning coffee? Do you ever wonder if a cup of coffee feels comforting and cozy to them, or is it just a direct shot of caffeine to the brain? What about coffee do they love? Is it the smell of the ground beans, the experience of the busy coffee shop before work? The sound of their Mr. Coffee percolating in the kitchen? What IS it that makes some people so grateful for that cup of coffee, and others, thinking it’s just another part of their day?

It is rather fascinating to me how two people can experience the exact same thing – and each of them perceive that same experience oh so differently.

This morning, around 4am, I slowly woke up to a strangely familiar sound…but one I had not heard in so long.

Next to me I heard a whisper, “Jen, it’s raining.”

I have never shot out of bed so fast, which was followed by (which was, shockingly, my voice)…

“Oh yay…ohhhh yaaayyyyy”

I’m not going to lie, my reaction surprised even me!

It felt like the best moment in my entire life… (not going to say that that thought was accurate exactly, but I tend to live very dramatically in the moment at times, hehe).

Months have gone by without a drop of rain…I was in a dark, chilly room; with a cozy, warm bed; with a cozy, warm man snuggled up next to me…and all of this played to the sound of rain falling on the pavement.

Holy jeeeezz…writing about it is making me all giddy again!

The best part? I had nowhere to be for at least another hour…and THAT is probably the best feeling of all. A sweet hour to savor every delicious drop of that moment.

How many other people in Santa Barbara do you think woke up this morning, looked out the window, and thought that very same thing?

What if we took these little, seemingly small joys, and blew them up real BIG? That cup of coffee could be a big good morning hug, or, it could just be a cup of joe…That morning rain could be a damper (maybe that pun was intended) on your day, or it could inspire you to light a candle, drink some hot tea and snuggle up with a book… (or at the very least, a whole lot easier to be stuck inside on a work day…righttttt?)

It’s your choice, really. What’s it going to be?

Posted in: Uncategorized

6 thoughts on “Allow yourself to be amazed

  1. Alexis Girvan says:

    … it’s going to be.. gratitude for sneezing. Yes – heard me. For sneezing. I haven’t been able to sneeze in days. And it’s been bugging the living day lights out of me. And tonight… while typing away on my mac in a cozy room lit with candles and tunes… my brilliant body did what it was supposed to. Sneezed.
    I could NOT be happier. 🙂
    Well … maybe if I was sipping coffee with you.
    Soon… 🙂

    Love you lady!!

  2. jen says:

    reminds me of this quote a bit

    For many years, at great cost, I traveled through many countries, saw the high mountains, the oceans. The only things I did not see were the sparkling dewdrops in the grass just outside my door.—
    Rabindranath Tagore

  3. resiliencesc says:

    I’m right there with you!!! Living up here in Portland has me constantly in awe of things that the locals take for granted. It rains…a lot…and while they hate it, I can’t get enough. I have my moments, sure, but most of the time I enjoy hearing the sound of rain on the concrete outside my window…or feeling it on my face as I walk to class.

    I’m also one to admire just how GREEN everything gets… The moss, the trees, and the buildings…its just beautiful… Yet I’ll see locals just scurrying through their days never looking up or around at all the beauty they have to enjoy.

    I think that’s the one thing we could all do a little more of… “Looking up and around”.

    Color me introspective…

Leave a Reply

