Big FAT Scaredy CAT!

 

If I...were king...of the...

The fact is, that to do anything in the world worth doing, we must not stand back shivering and thinking of the cold and danger, but jump in and scramble through as well as we can.
~ Robert Cushing

This has been a big growing week for me. On Monday, I agreed to give a talk on Wednesday (last night) about my story of health transformation to a room full of about 15 people.

Does that sound scary to you?

It sounded TERRIFYING to me.

I had planned on telling my story as part of a 8 week wellness transformation program, in the second week of November. I planned on giving myself a month to prepare.

I gave myself 2 days.

Last night, I sat in front of a group of about 15 people, and shared my story with them.

I grew.

I sweat bullets.

I stretched.

…and I not ONLY survived…but I did well, too.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m tired of sitting and waiting for the fear to pass to live my life. The fear will always be there. It is my job to let the fear run over me, look it in the face…

and tell it that I want to freakin’ PARTY!

After I graduated college, I had every intention of going back to school for my masters. I was just going to give myself one year.

One year turned into six.

I started having every excuse in the world as to why NOW was not the right time. I dont’ have the money right now. I’m worried that once I get my degree I’ll want to start a family and then I’ll have to stop working… What if I suck at it?

Seriously, I have single-handedly listed every single excuse known to man OUT THERE…

…and where has that left me? 28 years old, still helping other people reach their goals, and pushing mine off more and more.

This will get less depressing… promise 🙂

I am thankful for all the crazy ideas that I’ve had about what I think I want to be…counselor, midwife, real estate agent, and on and on and on. I let fear talk me out of all of those things…but I would like to think there was a reason for it.

Timing is key. Maybe before I wasn’t ready for my vocation, or “calling”, until now.

I was having a conversation with Nick about this recently (one of millions I feel…). He looked me straight in the face and said, “Jen, it’s time for you to woman up and do what you want to do.”

He’s right. It’s time. I’ve sat around waiting far too long…

December 3rd and 4th, in San Diego, CA I will be attending a Crossfit Level 1 Cert to become a Crossfit trainer.

Makes sense…doesn’t it? 🙂

 

 

3 thoughts on “Big FAT Scaredy CAT!

Leave a Reply

