Creation vs Creativity

I’m not going to lie to you, nor have I ever…so here comes:

I have been excited to have kids since I don’t even know when…long before I even met my husband, haha. I came from a smallllllllll town in northern Maine where people have children younger than most (that’s not a bad thing…just different than where I’ve been living the last 6 years of my life) and I’ve been really excited for MY turn! πŸ™‚ Ever since the wedding, it is as if the baby gates have dropped and my little wee baby brain has taken the lead…ugh. It’s against my own will at this point.

I had the most wonderful conversation with my acupuncturist around this whole topic, and was able to process things with her and it allowed me to figure out why I’ve been feeling the way I’ve been feeling lately. (Ps: she is awesome…and relatively new in Santa Barbara, you should check her out! (http://davidsonacupuncture.com/index.html) Here is what I’ve been thinking:

I was EXTREMELY creative all through my childhood and all the way up until college. I used to spend hours each night in my room drawing, playing piano, or creating stories on the most ancient, ghetto green typewriter you have ever seen. In highschool I was in drama club, the lead in our class play, jazz choir, show choir (glee anyone?), chorus, band, jazz band…etc etc. I was sort of into…stuff πŸ™‚

Once college came around, I literally put the breaks on EVERYTHING…I wanted a year or two of my life where I wasn’t busy every single second of the day with some activity. Well, one year turned into four, then 11…whoa. I’ve been out of high school for 11 years?…craziness.

Now, as a 29 year old woman, being the BUSIEST I have ever been in my life (thus far, I know it will get busier…) with opening a business, starting a new career as a Crossfit trainer and trying to be a teammate in making our home run smoothly,Β  I find myself craving those creative outlets more than ever!! The problem is…here is what I find to be available to me:

-knitting

-sewing

-baking/cooking

-scrap booking

…while those are all extremely functional hobbies…I just have NO interest in any of them. Well, I WANT to be a scrap-booker…maybe (??)…but I don’t ever make any effort in that direction, which leads to me think that I actually have no interest in that EITHER!

Whenever I consider taking a class on pottery spinning, or guitar lessons, I think “could this possibly make any other part of my life easier”, and if the answer is no, I drop the idea. I think this is why so many adults don’t take time for themselves…:-\ What I am LEARNING is that in order to be more loving to those around me, I need to care for myself first, so here is what I DO do now as sort of “creative” hobbies:

-Going to see open houses…for fun. Why is this creative? I’m creatively imagining where I would put all my furniture and where I would be snuggling up to drink my coffee while I look out at my ocean view…duh.

-Spray painting. No, not the illegal kind where I spray paint weird little gang symbols all over anything I can find…I’m talking DIY projects that I scrounge up on Pintrest… Pretty much, I’m spray painting every piece of furniture in my house right now aqua blue :-p

– Blogging πŸ™‚ Even thought I have dropped you recently…sorry!!

-Decorating. This is functional! Yay! Efficiency is always good!

I was told recently that there is a strong tie between CREATION and CREATIVITY…if you are blocked in one, it is VERY important to not be blocked in the either. Well, while the logical side of my brain (or mostly I refer to it as “Nick” :-p) says now is not the perfect time to start the newest, most advanced breed of human (our babies may be competing in “the games” at the age of 10…:-p kidding….), I know that I must super charge my creative outlet in the mean time.

Image

I am now accepting applications for my newest creative hobby πŸ™‚ So…what kinds of cool creative outlets do all of you have??

14 thoughts on “Creation vs Creativity

  1. Jennifer Flynn says:

    why don’t you try out for a local play? are their local jam sessions you can join in? (try meet up.com) what about volunteering at a local school to help with their musical? Or ask your favorite non-profit if you can help with their monthly newsletter….or for pete’s sake just have a baby then you can scrapbook the 10,000 photos of the baby:)

  2. sheshredss says:

    Definitely the kitchen!!!! Discovering new herbs and veggies to cook with. I make myself but 1 new one a week! And it’s good for the body :). Love you and love this post!!!

  3. Kathryn says:

    I really love scrapbooking because I get to spend time looking at all those pictures of all those fun times. I get to care for them and organize them and, as weird as this sounds, honor them in creating something that I will want to open and read again and again. But, thats just me….

    I also LOVE making jewelry…there is just something about pretty shiny things πŸ™‚

    • beautifullystrong says:

      I didn’t know you scrapbooked! I knew you make jewelry…and they’re BEAUTIFUL πŸ™‚ I do love the idea of scrapbooking…it’s a matter of getting all my pictures off my computer and turning them into something tangible, and then buying the scrapbooking starter stuff…but maybe someday soon! πŸ™‚

  4. laurenbodwell says:

    What about cooking!!! It’s a great way to try new foods and new things πŸ™‚ you can even make a cookbook! But you’ll figure it out, just don’t be afraid to try new things and go to new places and meet new people!! ❀

  5. Kendra Hewitt says:

    Jenn, Love this post! I too am a very creative person so I need outlets. When we first started the practice I was so bogged down in working in the business. Let’s just say I had lots of breakdowns, becuase my creativity time was spent working on systems. While I still devote my entire Thursday to financial and business systems for the practice so that it runs smoothly, I started adding what I call creative chunks of time to my calendar and it has made a huge difference. I acutually block time in my schedule for my business to work on creative things such as, ideas for products, writing new workshops, marketing campaigns for the future etc. For the practice, I no longer take any appts on mondays. I use the morning to get all patient marketing out and then I chunk the afternoon into creative time where no one can disturb me! One of my mentors once told me that he hired someone and paid them 2 million to think. Ideas and creativity is the lifeblood of success. He said that while he paid them 2 million the idea they generated made 20 million for his company. I always think about this before I go into that time period. Ryan and I also block a schedule for Fridays. We work together on projects that we need to move forward on Friday mornings and then we have free time of our own after that. In my free time I love to work on house projects and I too have become addicted to giving new life to old furniture. So much so that I am considering a side business. There is something so addicting to having a vision and giving something a second life. With that said I think its a great idea to make a hobby of looking for old stuff and making it beautiful again as an outlet for creativity! That is of course until you have a baby room to furnish πŸ™‚

    • beautifullystrong says:

      Kendra…I miss you…I miss your energy and your inspiring words that you are CONSTANTLY spouting. I think it would help if I could find a way to use my creativity for the business instead of working IN the business constantly, much like you said happened when you guys started the business. It’s a balancing act while learning who thrives where in each aspect of creating a business. It’s so funny that you said you are thinking of starting a side business with the furniture. The other day Nick and I were in this super cool furniture store in Cambria, CA and I saw this mirror that I was in love with (it was 300+ dollars) and Nick said, you could make that. That comment led to the conversation of starting an Etsy shop eventually (once I’m better at it) for furniture. So funny that we are on the same brainwave there πŸ™‚ I miss you and Ryan, and the bad assness that you lend me each workout with your energy…can’t wait to see you again, soon?? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

