Taking it to the next level…

I have been eating a paleo lifestyle now for just about three years…and I’ve been crossfitting for almost three (in October). I have made some pretty awesome changes…but I’m ready to take my training and my health to aNOTHER level!

I want to go from this…

In order to do that…I am going to need to make some changes…

-I need to change the way I train:

 a) I definitely feel like I often HOLD BACK in a workout. Whether it is a physical barrier or a mental barrier…I want to rid of the barriers. I can’t improve much more without do so.

b)I also may need to UP my workouts to 6 times a week (or 5 days with one two a day).

c) I also need to continue to get STRONGER. Nick gave me a GREAT idea of taking a power lifting class with Kevin Fisher here in town. I’m ON it!!!!

-I need to change what I’m eating. I know that I eat anywhere from 80-95% paleo on a regular basis as is…but I think I need to kick it up a notch.

a) I need to get rid of any evil gut bugs I may have…so kicking candida would make a HUGE change for me. I have started a candida diet a couple of days ago (essentially it’s Paleo without fruit – fruit is still full of sugar, even if it’s the good stuff).

“Now wait a minute…I thought fruit was good for you?!”  I am NOT saying fruit is bad for you…I am saying that I am taking a break from fruit to kill off candida which FEEDS off of SUGAR so that I can allow my guts to heal completely… I am doing this for a month or so, and afterward will add back some fruit (but I’m guessing significantly less). Even the paleo diet specifys “little fruit”…so…there! 🙂

Now, I am an avid green smoothie drinker, but when you remove fruit from your diet, it really takes GREEN smoothie to a whole other level. After much playing around with awful tasting smoothies, I found one this morning that I REALLY liked, and thought I would share it with you…

Living Green smoothie

1 handful of mint

1 handful of spinach (or more!!)

1 whole zucchini

ice

almond milk

2 scoops of Vitamineral Mix (super packed with lots of green stuff!!!)

2 tablespoons of Magic Maca (helps with adrenals (which is why I am going after it..however… if you’re interested, it also raises your libedo…it’s a super food!))

2 scoops of vanilla whey protein powder (sweetened with stevia and lactose and -)

5 drops of stevia for taste

 

 

It’s delicious…just try it before you knock it. There are TONS of nutrients in it…and honestly, since started the candida diet, I have had more energy and feel CLEARER (plus, I’ve stopped coffee…again…)

 

If you want to read more about it, check it out here : http://www.thecandidadiet.com/

 

Enjoy! 🙂

Posted in: Uncategorized

7 thoughts on “Taking it to the next level…

  1. Amanda says:

    Yea!!!!! So glad you got the Macca Let me know how you feel! Remember pay attention to where you are in your cycle when you take it! It’s also best to give your body a break from it 1 day a week or so. I love you! xoxox
    Amanda

  2. Di says:

    Hi Jen, what kind of whey protein are you using? Looking for something that doesn’t have fructose as the #2 ingredient. Thanks!

    • beautifullystrong says:

      Hi Di,

      The protein I use is from Lazy Acres here in Santa Barbara (I’m not sure where you’re from…)…I THINK it’s called “Show Me the Whey” (but I can double check that tonight). There is no sugar in it, there is only stevia. I would camp out in the protein section of a local health food store, and just look for a protein powder that is:
      -Lactose free
      -Whey protein
      -cold processed/filtered
      -no RBST
      -no hormones
      -no added sugar (stevia is okay)
      -should be like 90%+ un-denatured

      I hope this helps!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

