I think I may have found my dog’s flaw after all…

This morning, McMillian and I were taking our daily walk up the hill, while listing our (by our, I mean my…) gratitudes. It was GORGEOUS out this morning…so peaceful…the sun was bright and hot. We get to the hill, and I let McMill fly free…I was loving every second of watching him run like the wind up and down the hill, while I sipped my hot tea. It was awesome…every bit of it was. He was tearing through the tall grass stirring up all the birds, and his jowls were flopping in the wind. I whisper, “I’m grateful for McMillian and I’s little game…”. We have this game where he runs ahead, and then I yell, “Come!” and he runs to me, sits down, and waits until I tell him “GO!” which is when he’ll tear up the hill at full speed. I love it, and he get’s a good workout in a time pinch. Just as I was whispering this under my breath, I see him tearing toward me (no different than any other time…) and before I know it, I find myself staring up at the sky, head pounding, covered in tea.

…yup…that happened.

Let me put it this way…I was NOT happy.

Believe it or not, however, once I got up and realized what had happened…told him “NO!” while he smiled and wagged his tag at me (I think he thinks he won the game or something…), and clipped him back into his leash and walked down to the road…I literally TRIED to continue my gratitudes anyway. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the kindness in me to succeed at that…but A for effort? 🙂

When I got home and was covered in tea, my glasses included, and I didn’t look one bit grateful for shit…Nick wasn’t too happy to find out what happened either…and mumbled something about that being his fault for a little game him and McMill play…we’re learning everyday people!

Oh well, besides that, my morning was pretty awesome…and it started with the most delicious, nutritious, quick and easy breakfast EVER!!! Check it out:

Paleo Granola (from: PaleOMG)

Ingredients
  • 1 cup sliced almonds
  • 1 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (or other oil)
  • 1/2 cup raw honey
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 cup dried cranberries OR blueberries OR raisins
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
  2. Add all ingredients to a large microwavable bowl, except the fruit.
  3. Mix well. If the honey is thick, heat up in the microwave for about 30 seconds and mix well.
  4. Place on a baking sheet (use parchment paper for easy clean up).
  5. Bake for about 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally to help it not burn
  6. When you pull it out of the oven, mix in dried fruit. Let cool.

Isn’t it dreamy?

…I poured delicious hemp milk over the granola and sliced half of a banana on top; paired with a hardboiled egg and a (almost drank) cup of tea…I was ready for whatever the world threw at me…including my 70 pound dog.

 

Much love,

Jen

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “I think I may have found my dog’s flaw after all…

  1. dmschaub says:

    It’s so hard to be mad at dogs when they just seem so happy all the time and when they do something like that because they just love you so much! Besides the jumping dog, sounds like a great way to start the day…if only I could figure out how to have that peaceful of a morning with 2 little ones, haha!

    • beautifullystrong says:

      hehe…it’s true! It was hard to be mad at him when he was looking at me with his huge grin, pretty much wagging his whole body!! It was a great morning, and I bet Levi would LOVE that granola!!! 🙂 🙂 It’s like crack!

      • Danielle says:

        I should have said it is hard to stay mad when they are so happy! I have had many times when I have been SO mad at Axle for the many things he has destroyed around the house!

        I will have to try that granola. I have never had coconut oil but I have heard so many good things about. I may just have to do it! He loves dried cranberries though.

      • beautifullystrong says:

        Oh man…coconut oil…soooo many wonderful things about it: 1)AMAZING to cook with (it has a much higher burning point than other oils!) 2) it is an incredible healthy fat!! 3) it’s an amazing skin moisterizer!!! AMAZING!!! 4) best makeup remover ever 🙂

        I actually didn’t use coconut oil in the recipe though, I used grapeseed oil, which turned out awesome…but I bet coconut would turn out even better… 🙂 🙂 Doooooo it!

Leave a Reply

